Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides: Food Studies: GMO's

GMO's - EBOOKS

GMO Food - A Reference Handbook
The book provides clear, factual information and background on the history of genetically modified crops and foods, covering topics such as the historic methods of plant and animal modification.

Genetically Modified Foods
Call Number: EBook
Examines the most current scientific studies and provides in-depth information on genetically modified foods.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science - Genetically Modified Foods and Organisms
Call Number: EBook
Genetically Modified Foods by Salah E. O. Mahgoub
Call Number: EBook
An increasingly hot-button issue, genetically modified (GM) food is considered by some as the best way to feed the world's growing population, and by others as an experiment gone wrong on the unsuspecting public. Genetically Modified Foods: Basics, Applications, and Controversy details the basics of biotechnology and its applications in the laboratory and the field.
Genetically Modified Crops by Noël Merino, ed.
Call Number: EBook
This book covers the history and development of the science and techniques that underpin plant biotechnology.
Global Viewpoints - Genetically Modified Food by Noël Merino, ed.
Call Number: EBook
Examines the issue of genetically modified food from a variety of international perspectives.

Food and Drug Administration
This webpage discusses the FDA's role and policy around genetically engineered plants.
Live Science: GMO Facts
This site discusses both sides of the GMO issue with additional links to multiple organizations on both sides of the 'genetically modified" argument.
World Health Organization
This webpage discusses all aspects of genetically modified foods around human health and the environment.
U.S. National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine's overview of genetically engineered foods.
Non-GMO Project
A non-profit organization dedicated to providing non-gmo food sources. Provides information about genetically modified foods, as well as sources to obtain non-gmo containing foods.

Films on Demand - Genetically Modified Foods
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources.