Periodicals - HISTORY 111 - U.S. 19th Century History - Prof. Bishop - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

DATABASE SEARCH TIPS

1.) Spend some additional time brainstorming keywords and search terms based on the subject's life and/or significant political/historical events.

2.) Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

3.) When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

Image - National Archives

Databases / Scholarly Sources

America: History & Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
JSTOR
Archive of over 1,000 leading journals across the humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Militiary and Government Collection
A collection of periodicals, journals and other content pertinent to the militiary. Full-text for nearly 400 publications, and for 245 pamphlets. Indexing and abstrating for 500 titles.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, including fine art and archeology, Classics, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.

Selected Journals in History

The Civil War
Foremost scholarly journal of this conflict
Civil War History
American 19th Century History
Devoted to the history of nineteenth century America. Includes slavery, race, the Civil War & Reconstruction. Also includes reassessments of historical controversies, & reappraisals of prominent events or individuals.

HISTORY 111 - U.S. 19th Century History - Prof. Bishop: Periodicals

DATABASE SEARCH TIPS

Image - National Archives

Databases / Scholarly Sources

Selected Journals in History

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!