Books - HISTORY 111 - U.S. 19th Century History - Prof. Bishop - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Finding Books @ WCC Library & Beyond

MultiSearch Portal
Provides a comprehensive search of WCC's print and online collections. From one search box you can see what books and e-books WCC owns.
WorldCat
A catalog of catalogs. See what nearby libraries have on their shelves. With your WCC Student ID, you may visit other local collections. Be sure to call ahead!
Westchester Library System
Search across all WLS library branches. See if your nearby branch has books on your topic.
ILL - Interlibrary Loan
If you have time (up to two weeks) WCC library can borrow a book for you from a network library. You will need a WCC student ID card to complete the request. Books can be picked up at the Library Circulation Desk.

Tools for Historians

A student’s guide to history, 8th ed. by Benjamin, Jules R.
Call Number: Reference Collection, 1st Floor D16.3 .B4 2001 Library use only

COPY #2: Circulating Collection D16.3 .B4 2001 3-wk loan

H-NET Reviews
Consulted by Historians for the latest book and resource reviews in their field.

REFERENCE WORKS & Selected E-Books

Online Collection of Reference Encyclopedias, GVRL:

Gale EBooks
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.

Selected E-Book Titles (Click on the title to open):

The Battle of Gettysburg: Defining Moments by Kevin Hillstrom
Call Number: E-BOOK

ISBN: 9780780813236

Publication Date: 2013

Provides a detailed account of the American Civil War and the importance of the Battle of Gettysburg. Examines the forces that contributed to the war; early military battles and the Battle of Gettysburg; and the legacy of the Civil War. Also includes biographies, primary sources, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and index.
The Battle of Gettysburg by Haskell, Franklin Aretas
Call Number: E-BOOK

ISBN: 9780585052939

Publication Date: 1990"
American Civil War: A State by State Encyclopedia, Volumes 1-2 by Spencer Tucker
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781598845297

Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History by Andrew W. Robertson
Call Number: E-BOOK

ISBN: 9780872893139

Publication Date: 2010
American Civil War Reference Library by UXL Staff
Call Number: E-BOOK

ISBN: 9780787638184

Publication Date: 1999

Selected Hardcover Books

Gettysburg by Stephen W. Sears
Call Number: Circulating Collection E475.53 .S43 2003 3-wk loan

ISBN: 0395867614

Publication Date: 2003
Beneath a Northern Sky: A Short History of the Gettysburg Campaign by Steven E. Woodworth
Call Number: Circulating Collection E475.51 .W66 2003 3-wk loan

ISBN: 0842029338

Publication Date: 2003
The Civil War: the first year told by those who lived it by Sheehan-Dean Aaron (Editor); Stephen W. Sears (Editor); Brooks D. Simpson (Editor)
Call Number: Circulating Collection E464 .C4385 2011 3-wk loan

ISBN: 9781598530889

Publication Date: 2011
Grant and Sherman by Charles Bracelen Flood
Call Number: Circulating Collection E467 .F557 2005 3-wk loan

ISBN: 0374166005

Publication Date: 2005
Lincoln and the Jews by Jonathan D. Sarna; Benjamin Shapell
Call Number: Circulating Collection E457.2 .S327 2015 3-wk loan

ISBN: 9781250059536

Publication Date: 2015
On the Altar of Freedom: a black soldier’s Civil War letters from the front by James H. Gooding; Virginia M. Adams (Editor); James M. McPherson (Foreword by)
Call Number: Circulating Collection E513.5 54th .G66 1991 3-wk loan

ISBN: 0870237454

Publication Date: 1991
The Devil's Own Work: the Civil War draft riots and the fight to reconstruct America by Barnet Schecter
Call Number: Circulating Collection F128.44 .S33 2005 3-wk loan

ISBN: 0802714390

Publication Date: 2005
Lincoln and His Admirals by Craig L. Symonds
Call Number: Circulating Collection E457.2 .S94 2008 3-wk loan

ISBN: 9780195310221

Publication Date: 2008

***Monitor v. Merrimack***
How the South Could Have Won the Civil War by Bevin Alexander
Call Number: Circulating Collection E470 .A36 2007 3-wk loan

ISBN: 9780307345998

Publication Date: 2007

****Appomattox****