Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
#1 Google Tip for Academics: Click on "Advanced Search" when you Google and limit your search to .GOV, .EDU, or .ORG domains.
AND . . . If you like this sort of thing, there are many other helpful tricks at the Google Help Cheat Sheet.
American Memory Project of the Library of Congress
An interactive exhibit of documents and artifacts in the Library of Congress.
Digital History Timeline
Use this resource to find specific historical events and movements. Can use the tools to customize a time range.
Smithsonian Magazine Online
Smithsonian magazine and Smithsonian.com place a Smithsonian lens on the world, looking at the topics and subject matters researched, studied and exhibited by the Smithsonian Institution -- science, history, art, popular culture and innovation
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
H-Net Civil War Group
Includes reviews, news, discussions, resources from academics studying Civil War History .
Reviws in History
Covering new books and selected online resources released in the field of History.
19th Century Online
A Directory compiled by Bowling Green State University Libraries
Civil War 150
The Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery is taking part in the commemorations for the 150th anniversary of the Civil War and the presidency of Abraham Lincoln with a series of seven related exhibitions.
Civil War Medical Care
This New York Public Library collection contains photographs from the United States Sanitary Commission Collection, 1861-1872
Freedmen and Southern Society
This site offers sample documents from the Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861-1867 project developed at the University of Maryland.
Image Collections and Videos
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Collections of museum images and associated data for educational use. Includes slide and demonstration tools for research and teaching purposes.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.