Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
20th C. Art - Brazil
Portinari, Candido. Discovery of the Land (mural). 1941. United States Library of Congress's Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C. Wikimedia Commons. Library of Congress, 5 May 2008. Web. 25 Sept. 2013.
Databases for This Project
The following databases may offer a mix of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers and magzines that may include history, philosophy, literature, science, religion and art. Also see:
Databases A to Z Databases by Discipline
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy- in nearly 300 full-text journals.
Primary Source Databases
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
INSTRUCTIONS--Click on INTELLIGENCE ZONE TAB then "COUNTRY REVIEWS" and switch the country from Ukraine to desired country.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
New York Times Historical, The (1851-5 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offers full-text and full-image articles dating back to the 19th Century. Coverage from 1851 to 2009.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.
Alexander Street Videos Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Academy®, Emmy® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction.