Streaming Video/Audio - HIS 112 - 20th Century U.S. History Prof. DuBose - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Archival Video and Audio

Archival Video and Audio recordings can be used as PRIMARY SOURCE documentation. In addition the the collections and links provided below, you can also go to Google and search:

"Oral History" and [TOPIC, EVENT SOCIAL MOVEMENT OR PERSON'S NAME]

For example:

"Oral History" ABD Tuskegee Airmen

"Oral History" AND School Desegregation Northern

"Oral History" AND Gay Liberation Movement

Streaming Video as Primary Sources

Alexander Street Videos Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window Documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Academy®, Emmy® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.

Year by Year Film Footage Series

Prelinger Archives: The City, 1939

Prelinger Archives: The City. Films On Demand. 1939. Accessed October 5, 2022. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=98422&xtid=53915.

1964 Special Report: Public School Desegregation

1964 SPECIAL REPORT: "NYC SCHOOL DESEGREGATION." "1964 SPECIAL REPORT: 'NYC
     SCHOOL DESEGREGATION.'" Produced by National Educational Television by
     WNDT. Accessed October 5, 2022. https://www.youtube.com/
     watch?v=OV7SnX9hZ6s.

The March on Washington 1963

The March on Washington, 1963. Films On Demand. 2008. Accessed October 5, 2022. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=98422&xtid=48845.

AUDIO and Oral History as Primary Sources

Oral History Association Directory Directory of organizations conducting Oral Histories.
Columbia University Center for Oral History Particular contemporary oral history collections being produced by Columbia University.
ArchiveGrid Search for Oral Histories ArchiveGrid, a database containing more than 7 million collection descriptions, includes nearly 95,000 descriptions of individual oral history inteviews and collections of oral histories. To find them, add the words "oral history" (in quotes) to your topic search. For example, the search string -- "oral history" AND "civil rights" -- turns up more than 2800 results. The "summary view" will allow you to see which archives hold the OH collections.
SOUND Collection Database The first release of a database supported by the Radio Preservation Task Force, National Recording Preservation Board of the Library of Congress (RPTF) and Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC). Browse or search nearly 3000 records describing recorded sound collections in repositories around the country.
StoryCorps A nonprofit organization "whose mission is to record, preserve, and share the stories of Americans from all backgrounds and beliefs."

Podcast Finder

ListenNotes can help you find contemporary podcasts on a variety of historical topics. Interviews with authors of recent books, interviews with older Americans who were a part of social movements, and so on.

This is not necessarily PRIMARY SOURCE, but can be used as a SECONDARY SOURCE.

ListenNotes Podcast Search Engine

LGBT Seniors Tell Their Stories (Los Angeles PRIDE)

Los Angeles LGBT Center, prod. LGBT Seniors Tell Their Stories. Los Angeles LGBT
Center on YouTube, 2013. Accessed October 5, 2022. https://www.youtube.com/
watch?v=JDOdv792rBA.

HIS 112 - 20th Century U.S. History Prof. DuBose: Streaming Video/Audio