Your assignment asks you to analyze a primary source document as part of your independent research, and your group project requires the use of primary sources. The library and web sources listed can help. You can also search Google for your topic and include keywords like:
African American AND World War II Archives
United Federation of Teachers AND New York AND Digital Collection
Be sure to verify that the website is reputable (i.e. of an educational or professional nature)
This is a 1945 photo of Pvt. Adolph Baxter, Jr., of Pontiac, Michigan, the first African American soldier to be assigned to Armed Forces Network overseas. He is described as twirling a dial on a transmitter in Paris, France.
|
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, |
Kassoy, Bernard (American printmaker and painter). 15 February 1958. Large
student in shadows is labeled "99% Overcrowded Classes, Under Paid
Teachers, Overburderdened [Sic] Staffs, Dilapidated Buildings, Shortage of
Teachers, Witch Hunts, etc…etc…" A tiny man representing the Board of
Education shines a spotlight on "1% Delinquents.." editorial cartoons,
cartoons.Place: Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and
Archives, Martin P. Catherwood Library, Cornell University.
https://lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2145/asset/SS34482_34482_4469441.
Place: Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives, Martin P. Catherwood Library, Cornell University. https://lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2145/asset/SS34482_34482_4469441.
American Decades : Primary Sources / Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume includes primary and secondary sources by decade, documenting and analyzing periods of contemporary American social history.
The Great American Mosaic by
Firsthand sources are brought together to illuminate the diversity of American history in a unique way--by sharing the perspectives of people of color who participated in landmark events. This invaluable, four-volume compilation is a comprehensive source of documents that give voice to those who comprise the American mosaic, illustrating the experiences of racial and ethnic minorities in the United States. Each volume focuses on a major racial/ethnic group: African Americans, American Indians, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and Latinos. Documents chosen by the editors for their utility and relevance to popular areas of study are organized into chronological periods from historical to contemporary. The collection includes eyewitness accounts, legislation, speeches, and interviews. Together, they tell the story of America's diverse population and enable readers to explore historical concepts and contexts from multiple viewpoints. Introductions for each volume and primary document provide background and history that help students understand and critique the material. The work also features a useful primary document guide, bibliographies, and indices to aid teachers, librarians, and students in class work and research. Highlights the history and experience of people of color in the United States through 450 important documents and firsthand accounts Introduces readers to multiple viewpoints about landmark events Provides a unique and helpful "Guide to Why and How to Use Primary Documents"
Social Policy by
Social Policy explores how governments and groups have developed and implemented social policies that have shaped societies and influenced social justice and social change. Included are approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. Entries are organized into chapters that feature a general overview of the chapters subtopic. The following standard subheads are included in each entry: Date Source About the Author Introduction Primary Source Significance Further Resources All titles contain an introduction to its topic, a chronology of major events associated with the topic, and a general index. While Gale strives to replicate print content, some content may not be available due to rights restrictions.
Jim Crow America
This is an ideal resource on racism and segregation in American life. The term ""Jim Crow"" has had multiple meanings and a dark and complex past. It was first used in the early nineteenth century. After the Civil War it referred to the legal, customary, and often extralegal system that segregated and isolated African Americans from mainstream American life. In response to the increasing loss of their rights of citizenship and the rising tide of violence, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People was founded in 1909. The federal government eventually took an active role in dismantling Jim Crow toward the end of the Depression. But it wasn't until the Lyndon Johnson years and all the work that led up to them that the end of Jim Crow finally came to pass. This unique book provides readers with a wealth of primary source materials from 1828 to 1980 that reveal how the Jim Crow era affects how historians practice their craft. The book is chronologically organized into five sections, each of which focuses on a different historical period in the story of Jim Crow: inventing, building, living, resisting, and dismantling. Many of the fifty-six documents and eighteen images and cartoons, many of which have not been published before, reveal something significant about this subject or offer an unconventional or unexpected perspective on this era. Some of the historical figures whose words are included are Abraham Lincoln, Marcus Garvey, Booker T. Washington, Richard Wright, Paul Robeson, Langston Hughes, Adam Clayton Powell, and Marian Anderson. The book also has an annotated bibliography, a list of key players, a timeline, and key topics for consideration.
Asian America by
An essential collection that brings together the core primary texts of the Asian American experience in one volume "A vital, up-to-date collection of critical sources that shed new insight into the lives of diverse Asian Americans, past and present."--Erika Lee, author of The Making of Asian America: A History An essential volume for the growing academic discipline of Asian American studies, this collection of core primary texts draws from a wide range of fields, from law to visual culture to politics, covering key historical and cultural developments that enable students to engage directly with the Asian American experience over the past century. The primary sources, organized around keywords, often concern multiple hemispheres and movements, making this compendium valuable for a number of historical, ethnic, and cultural study undergraduate programs.
