You do not need to read an entire book cover to cover to cite it in your paper. Use the Table of Contents (at the front) or the Index (at the back) to find the section or pages that discuss your topic in detail and read that.
Use the TWEAK YOUR RESULTS functions to narrow your results.
Use the date limiter to get rid of older titles in your search list. Change the dates and click REFINE.
Check the box to the left of Available Online to limit your results to ebooks only, or the left of Held by Library to limit to print books only > Apply Filters (at the bottom of the page)
Search PRIMO, the library catalog, to find Books in the Harold L. Drimmer Library.
While many journals are searchable in Primo, it does not include those from JSTOR, which contain the majority of the Art History titles.
You can sign in to the catalog with your FULL WCC ID (CHook12345@my.sunywcc.edu) and password to save items and to access additional resources. *optional
Click the radio button for SEARCH THE WCC LIBRARY
Under MATERIAL TYPE to the right, use the dropdown to select BOOKS
In the search boxes, enter your topic.
Click Search to see your results
Some books are print books on the library shelves, which will show a location/collection and a call number. Others are ebooks accessible online. To access online books from off-campus, use your WCC credentials to log in when prompted. For some titles the library has both physical and digital copies. The last book is listed as NOT AVAILABLE which means it is checked out or the library has ordered it, but it has not come in yet. You can place a hold on any book that is checked out and will be notified when it is returned and ready for you to pick up.
To find the book on the WCC Library shelves, you will need the CALL NUMBER and LOCATION.
Circulating items can be checked out for 3 weeks with your WCC ID.
REFERENCE and RESERVE books are on the first floor and must be used in the library.
Books with the location CIRCULATING COLLECTION are on the second and third floors. NEW BOOK COLLECTION, SOCIAL JUSTICE COLLECTION, GRAPHIC NOVEL COLLECTION, JUVENILE COLLECTION are all on the first floor.
Click on a title for more information. Look at the table of contents or description to see if the book might be helpful.
Byzantine Art by
The opulence of Byzantine art, with its extravagant use of gold and silver, is well known. Highly skilled artists created powerful representations reflecting and promoting this society and its values in icons, illuminated manuscripts, and mosaics and wallpaintings placed in domed churches and public buildings. This complete introduction to the whole period and range of Byzantine art combines immense breadth with interesting historical detail. Robin Cormack overturns the myth that Byzantine art remained constant from the inauguration of Constantinople, its artistic centre, in the year 330 until the fall of the city to the Ottomans in 1453. He shows how the many political and religious upheavals of this period produced a wide range of styles and developments in art. This updated, colour edition includes new discoveries, a revised bibliography, and, in a new epilogue, a rethinking of Byzantine Art for the present day.
A History of Art in Africa by
This comprehensive work considers the arts of Africa as art history, rather than as expressions of anthropological and societal impulses and traditions. The result is to animate the study of African art, showing how it has changed over the years.
Museum of Islamic Art: the Collection by
The first comprehensive reference publication on the world-class collection at the Museum of Islamic Art, Qatar, featuring examples of dazzling artistic achievements from across the Islamic world. With flagship architecture by I. M. Pei, an interior designed by J.-M. Wilmotte, and one of the world's finest collections of its type, the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, Qatar, is a dazzling showcase of the artistic achievements of the Islamic world. The collection represents the highest expression of artistic culture, covering lands from Spain to Central Asia and India, and ranging in date from the early Islamic period to the nineteenth century, including metalwork, miniatures, carpets, calligraphy and ceramics. Published to coincide with the re-opening of the museum galleries, this book brilliantly conveys the quality and significance of the Museum of Islamic Art collection, presenting impressive images of objects alongside new research and discoveries by the museum curatorial team. Also including thirty-seven specially commissioned essays by scholars of Islamic Art, Museum of Islamic Art: The Collection is an outstanding and detailed contribution to the field.
Arts of the Hellenized East: Precious Metalwork and Gems of the Pre-Islamic Era by
Available for the first time in paperback, Arts of the Hellenized East is a visually compelling, informative, beautifully produced guide to one of the world's most spectacular collections of precious metalwork, part of The al-Sabah Collection, Kuwait. Leading expert Martha Carter contextualizes eighty spectacular bowls, drinking vessels, and other luxury items from the Hellenized East dating from the age of Alexander the Great up to the period preceding the advent of Islam. The decorative motifs of these exquisite objects testify both to the astonishing skill of their craftsmen and to the complex interconnected cultural histories of Greece, Iran, and Central Asia. Two illustrated essays supplement the discussion: Prudence O. Harper's exploration of a group of eighteen magnificent Sasanian and later Central Asian works of art, including some important royal seals; and an essay by Pieter Meyers on the technology of ancient silver production, including a new metallurgical analysis that helps to clarify the objects' origins.
Lives of the Gods: divinity in Maya art by
This engaging exploration of the Maya pantheon introduces readers to the complex stories of Mesoamerican divinity through the stunning carvings, ceramics, and metalwork of the Classic period Focusing on the period between A.D. 250 and 900, Lives of the Gods reveals that ancient Maya artists evoked a pantheon as rich and complex as the more familiar Greco-Roman, Hindu-Buddhist, and Egyptian deities. The authors show how this powerful cosmology informed some of the greatest creative achievements of Maya civilization, represented here from the monumental to the miniature through more than 140 works in jade, stone, and clay. Thematic chapters supported by new scholarship on recent archaeological discoveries detail the different types of gods and their domains, the role of the divine in the lives of the ancient Maya, and the continuation of these traditions from the colonial period through the present day. Published by The Metropolitan Museum of Art/Distributed by Yale University Press Exhibition Schedule: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (November 21, 2022-April 2, 2023) Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth, TX (May 7-September 3, 2023)
Rock Art in an Indigenous Landscape: from Atlantic Canada to Chesapeake Bay by
Examines a host of rock art sites from Nova Scotia to Maryland Rock art, petroglyphs, and pictographs have been made by indigenous peoples for thousands of years. Images have been found on bedrock, cliff faces, ridge tops, and boulders and in rock shelters. Some rock surfaces are covered with abstract and geometric designs such as concentric circles, zigzag lines, grids, and cross-hatched and ladder-like patterns. Others depict humans, footprints and handprints, mammals, serpents, and mythic creatures. All were meticulously pecked, incised or painted. This ancient art form connects us to Native Americans' past, traditions, world views, and sacred places. Rock Art in an Indigenous Landscape: From Atlantic Canada to Chesapeake Bay is the culmination of the research of preeminent rock art scholar Edward J. Lenik. Here, he profiles more than 64 examples of rock art in varied locations from Nova Scotia to Maryland. Chapters are organized geographically and lead the reader through coastal sites, rivers and streams, lakes and ponds, and upland sites. Lenik discusses the rock art examples in the context of the indigenous landscape, noting the significance of the place of discovery. Coverage includes a meticulous description of the design or motif and suggestions of time frame, artist-makers, and interpretations. Where possible, indigenous views on the artifacts enrich the narrative. Other invaluable elements are a discussion of how to identify indigenous rock art; a glossary of rock art terms and features and archaeological culture periods; an up-to-date bibliography; and an appendix of a number of reported but unconfirmed petroglyph sites in the regions.
Early Buddhist Art of China and Central Asia, Volume 1: Later Han, Three Kingdoms and Western Chin in China and Bactria to Shan-Shan in Central Asia. by 
