For the Research Project, you can complete a mini art exhibition, a video guide, a podcast guide, or propose something different.
For the research project, you can use research already gathered, organized, and published by others (secondary). The secondary information you collect must be academic (no blogs, Wikipedia, magazines, or newspaper articles). You need a total of 5 sources for this project. Do not use AI-generated research, Khan Academy, Smart History, Art Story, Wikipedia, or any other encyclopedia source. Only use the sources above for their bibliography and not the content. You will notice that some of the information in the bibliography is from outside academic sources. You should not use those sources.
The goal is for you to develop your own original idea based on your research and visual observation of an artwork. You may use the work you used for your Visual Analysis assignment. Your thesis will be based on your research and the artwork's formal elements. You can include iconography, symbolism, historical information, biography, etc. However, the research and the formal analysis should guide your thesis. You will lose points if your project includes irrelevant information that does not support your thesis. You can write about a style, an artwork, and an artist from any place in the world as long as it is within the timeframe of the course.
Your project should be titled. The supporting essay should have 1-inch margins on all sides, and you should use a standard font no larger than 12 pt (this translates into approximately 750 to 1000 words). It should also be free of grammatical errors and have proper punctuation, capitalization, italics, and citations.
The project should include the following:
1. A thesis statement (an argument) developed by you from the research you gather and the visual information in the artwork.
3. A detailed analysis of the formal characteristics of the work and how it relates to the information you have uncovered.
4. Use your own words. Limit the use of direct quotes. However, you still need to cite the ideas.
5. Bibliography and citations in any style, but please be consistent.
6. Title, Artist, Year of the painting. The title of the painting should be italicized.
The Pocket Exhibition - Students will conceive a “pocket exhibition” with three to four works. Each proposed exhibition will be focused on one artwork or theme. The requirements of the exhibition are:
1. Three to four artworks.
2. Each artwork will have a label (150 words)
3. A main exhibition wall text (200 to 300 words)
4. A 500 to 750-word essay explaining the conceptual and theoretical frameworks of the exhibition,
5. A one-page bibliography.
Video or Podcast: Use the information you garnered from your research, and instead of writing a paper, you can create a video in the style of Smarthistory or a podcast in the style of Sidedoor that is at most six minutes long. A 500 to 750-word essay explaining the conceptual and theoretical frameworks of the podcast or video and a one-page bibliography should accompany your project.
Propose an idea: It is possible that these projects do not interest you. This is your time to be creative. You may want to make an animation, a zine, or something else. Please meet me during my office hours before you submit your proposal.
These sources do not provide scholarly articles, but are good places to get started and review concepts, techniques, themes, and periods.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by
Archaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2007) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture spans every art form, medium, and civilization the fall of the Roman Empire, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. Drawing on the expansive scholarship of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols) and Grove Art Online, and adding dozens of new entries, the Encyclopedia includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates, the Encyclopedia is a reliable and convenient resource covering this field of everlasting significance in the development of western culture.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by
Ideal for students, picture researchers, and enthusiasts of all kinds, this third edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Art reaffirms the unrivalled position held by this authoritative one-volume guide to the art of the western world. It provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal ranging across painting, sculpture, drawing, and the applied arts from classical times to the present. Almost 3,500 entries provide the reader with instant information, written in succinct and readable prose, about styles, techniques, collections, artists, and historians. Includes a practical reference section with a fully updated and expanded Chronology, and an Index of Galleries and Museums around the world. There is also a Classified Contents, enabling the reader to search for entries within a particular subject area or period.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms by
* Over 2000 authoritative entries and 400 illustrations, including diagrams for comprehensive treatment of architectural terms * Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day: there is even a table of the dynasties of Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt, China, India and Japan * This new edition features entries connected with the use of computer technology in the art world and includes today's influential groups and tendencies From the Preface: This dictionary is compact, because our experience of the arts is gained in so many places - in exhibitions, in museums, touring with a guide book - and no one wants to tour with a reference library. It is also comprehensive, because neither in real life nor in books are the various arts neatly segregated. More than 2000 entries therefore define and explain terms from painting, sculpture, architecture, the decorative and applied arts... With this dictionary at hand, the reader should be able to puzzle out any art text, however technical, and the collector or exhibition-goer should feel at ease with any auction or museum catalogue, no matter how recondite.
Mosaic fragment with peacock facing left. Fifth to sixth century CE, Getty Museum, https://exploreancientworlds.getty.edu/art-objects/mosaic-fragment-with-peacock-facing-left.
