Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Credo Reference
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Gale EBooks
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
The Association on American Indian Affairs
"The Association on American Indian Affairs is the oldest non-profit serving Indian Country protecting sovereignty, preserving culture, educating youth and building capacity. "
"eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life."
Searching for background information is part of the research process! You may shift your topic based on what you discover (or don't ) along the way.
What Can You Gain From Background Research?
- Key Words or phrases for searching that are specific to your topic
- Major ideas related to your topic
- People places, time periods that are relevant to your topic
- Additional readings on your topic (Look for citations)
- Information that answers basic information on your topic (the who, the what, the where, the when, the why)
Where Do I Find Background Information?
- General encyclopedias
- Subject-specific encyclopedias
- Article databases (News and Magazines)
- Government and Educational organizations
The Research Process: Get Started