Find Articles in a Database - ANTHR. 120 - Native People of North America Linden - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.

Tips on Searching Databases

Limit your results to Full-Text so the database only provides you with the full text and not just the citation.
If you want to narrow your results look for suggested subject headings to limit your results to that topic
Before reading the whole text of the article browse the abstract. The abstract is a short summary of the article and will help you decided if the article addresses your topic. Some databases also supply subject terms. These can be useful keywords to search.
Email yourself a copy of the article (there should be an email button near the article) to ensure you have a copy of the article. Any email address will work (it doesn't have to be your WCC email). Emailing the article will also include a citation of the article you can use in your works cited page
Keep in mind the type of source you are look at. Databases commonly provide access to newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals.

Types of Periodicals in Databases

Newspapers: Written for general readers on a wide variety of topics. Published daily.

Magazines: Also for current topics, written for general readers with no background in the subject. Not as frequently published as newspapers but offer more detail.

Academic Journals: Longer research reports by specialists, written for other specialists. Can be quite technical. (Also called Scholarly / Peer Reviewed / Professional Journals)

ANTHR. 120 - Native People of North America Linden: Find Articles in a Database

Recommended Databases

Tips on Searching Databases

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!