Additional Internet Resources - ANTHR. 120 - Native People of North America Linden - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

National Resources

Administration for Native Americans
Part of the Administration For Children and Families, ANA promotes the goal of social and economic self-sufficiency of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Native American Pacific Islanders, including Native Samoans. The web site provides information about programs, reports, application kits, and links to related sites.
American Indian Resource Directory
Provides general administrative Tribal contacts, cultural information and links to additional locations that provide information about American Indian tribes and their resources.
American Indian Studies Research Institute
Is an interdisciplinary research center at Indiana University focused on the native peoples of the Americas. The site allows public access to the current results of their ongoing projects. The Institute's Dictionary Portal allows the visitor to work with AISRI dictionaries for five languages. The Northern Caddoan Linguistic Text Corpora Portal is a gateway to texts and narratives in Arikara, Skiri Pawnee, and South Band Pawnee.
Association on American Indian Affairs
Founded in 1922, the Association on American Indian affairs played a part in drafting the Indian Child Welfare Act, the Native American Graves Protection, and Repatriation Act, and the Tribal Tax Status Act.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Is the administration and management of millions of acres of land held in trust by the United States for American Indians, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives. BIA also provides education services to thousands of Indian students.

more...
FedLaw: Native Americans
Provides links to full texts of laws and regulations, including Executive Orders.
National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers
Is a national non-profit membership organization of Tribal government officials who implement federal and tribal preservation laws. NATHPO's overarching purpose is to support the preservation, maintenance and revitalization of the culture and traditions of Native peoples of the United States.
National Congress of American Indians
Works to inform the public and Congress on the governmental rights of American Indians and Alaska Natives. Provides coverage of current policy issues as well as information about education, health, economic development, and the environment as it relates to Native Americans.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Provides access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents. A cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library, and Native American tribes.
U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
Offers text of hearings, current issues information including text of introduced bills, and press releases.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar, http://scholar.google.com/, is a way to search the internet for scholarly information on a given topic. Unlike a normal Google search, Google Scholar searches for scholarly information provided by academic publishers, professional societies, universities, repositories and scholarly organizations. The types of information Google Scholar provides include:

Peer-reviewed journal articles
Unpublished scholarly articles
Masters theses and other degree based work
Citations for books that may provide limited access to the text of the book.
Technical reports

For the most part, Google Scholar provides a citation to articles without full-text access. If you use Google Scholar on campus you can see links to full text articles via library databases.

If you are using Google Scholar off campus, you will need to link Google Scholar to the full-text resources of Westchester Community College. You can consult our online guide on how to link WCC resources.

Site Searching: A Google Technique to Save You Time

Learn how to use Google to find only governmental or educational resources.

For example:

Try searching "Iroquois"

To limit your search results on Google to find only government or educational web sources.

Add your topic - then include site:.edu or site:.gov

For example:

Iroquois site:.gov

Iroquois site:.edu

"iroquois history" site:.edu

"iroquois history" site:.gov

ANTHR. 120 - Native People of North America Linden: Additional Internet Resources

National Resources

Using Google Scholar

Site Searching: A Google Technique to Save You Time

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!