Skip to Main Content

Prof. Zwick - Film & Book Resources for the Aspiring Criminologist: Want to Better Understand Police-Community Relationships? Read These

Books

Police community relations : a conflict management approach / Patrick Solar
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV8139 .S65 2019

ISBN: 9781640201545

Publication Date: 2018

This book is written by a veteran police officer for current and future police officers as well as anyone who is seeking a deeper understanding of the role of the police in our American society.
Blue : the LAPD and the battle to redeem American policing / Joe Domanick
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV8148.L7 D657 2015

ISBN: 9781451641073

Publication Date: 2015

An award-winning investigative reporter reveals the troubled history of the LAPD that brings to light the ravages of the criminal justice system.
Community-Oriented Policing and Technological Innovations / George Leventakis (Editor); M. R. Haberfeld (Editor)
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor HV7936 .C83 C66 2018

ISBN: 9783319892931

Publication Date: 2018

Presents new approaches and innovative challenges to address bringing technology into community-oriented policing efforts.
Fight the power : African Americans and the long history of police brutality in New York City / Clarence Taylor
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor HV8148. N5 T39 2019

ISBN: 9781479862450

Publication Date: 2018

A story of resistance, power and politics as revealed through New York City's complex history of police brutality.

eBooks

Racial profiling [electronic resource] / Lauri S. Scherer, book editor
Call Number: Electronic Resource Gale Virtual Reference Library

ISBN: 9780737759136

Publication Date: 2012

Books (cont.)

White privilege and black rights : the injustice of U.S. police racial profiling and homicide / Naomi Zack
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV7936.R3 Z33 2015

ISBN: 9781442250550

Publication Date: 2015
The Black and the Blue: A Cop Reveals the Crimes, Racism, and Injustice in America's Law Enforcement / Matthew Horace; Ron Harris
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor HV7911. H617 A3 2018

ISBN: 9780316440080

Publication Date: 2018
Suspect Citizens: What 20 Million Traffic Stops Tell Us About Policing and Race / Frank R. Baumgartner; Derek A. Epp; Kelsey Shoub
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor HV7936 .R3 B38 2018

ISBN: 9781108429313

Publication Date: 2018
How Police Generate False Confessions / James L. Trainum
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor HV8073.3 .T735 2016

ISBN: 9781442244641

Publication Date: 2016
Excessive Use of Force / Loretta P. Prater
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor HV8141 .P72 2018

ISBN: 9781538108000

Publication Date: 2018
Chokehold: Policing Black Men / Paul Butler
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV8141 .B88 2017

ISBN: 9781595589057

Publication Date: 2017

Quick Links

Connect

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600