Want to Know More About Violent Crime? Read These! - Prof. Zwick - Film & Book Resources for the Aspiring Criminologist - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Books

Beijing Payback: A Novel / Daniel Nieh
Call Number: Young Adult PS3614 .I35626 B45 2019
ISBN: 9780062886644
Publication Date: 2019
A fresh, smart, and fast-paced revenge thriller about a college basketball player who discovers shocking truths about his family in the wake of his father's murder.
Tony Soprano's America: Gangsters, Guns, and Money / M. Keith Booker; Isra Daraiseh
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor PN1992.77 .S66 B66 2017
ISBN: 9781442273221
Publication Date: 2017
M. Keith Booker and Isra Daraiseh explore the central role of the series in American cultural history, and discuss how a show focused on an ethnic antihero reflected common themes of contemporary American life, including ethnicity, class, capitalism, therapy, and family dynamics.
Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders / Vincent Bugliosi; Curt Gentry
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6533 .C2 B83 1994
ISBN: 9780393087000
Publication Date: 1994
The prosecutor of the Tate-LaBianca trials presents a perceptive study of Charles Manson, his followers, and the murders of actress Sharon Tate and four others in 1969.
History of Heists: Bank Robbery in America / Jerry Clark; Ed Palattella
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6658 .C53 2015
ISBN: 9781442235458
Publication Date: 2015
A History of Heists details trends in bank robbery, including how advances in law enforcement and security have foiled many bandits.

Books

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America / Erik Larson
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6248 .M8 L37 2003
ISBN: 9780609608449
Publication Date: 2003
Erik Larson intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining meticulous research with nail-biting storytelling, Larson has crafted a narrative of newly discovered history and the thrills of the best fiction.
Clues from Killers: Serial Murder and Crime Scene Messages / Dirk C. Gibson
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6529 .G53 2004
ISBN: 9780275983604
Publication Date: 2004
Gibson takes a look at ten notorious serial killers, their crimes, their victims, and their communications to uncover new insights into the minds of these unusual and dangerous people.
My Life among the Serial Killers: Inside the Minds of the World's Most Notorious Murderers / Helen Morrison; Harold Goldberg
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6515 .M653 2004
ISBN: 9780060524074
Publication Date: 2004
Includes material on Richard Macek, Ed Gein, John Wayne Gacy, the Yorkshire Ripper, Wayne Williams, Bobby Joe Long, Robert Derdella, Michael Lee Lockhart, and Rosemary West.
Crime Beat: A Decade of Covering Cops and Killers / Michael Connelly
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6783 .C715 2006
ISBN: 9780316153775
Publication Date: 2006
Before he became a novelist, Michael Connelly was a crime reporter, covering the homicide beat in Florida and Los Angeles. Connelly leads the reader past the yellow police tape as he follows the investigators, the victims, their families, and the killers to tell the real stories of murder and its aftermath.

Prof. Zwick - Film & Book Resources for the Aspiring Criminologist: Want to Know More About Violent Crime? Read These!

Books

Books

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!