Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Books, EBooks
Alvin Ailey by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.A38 D85 1996
Now for the first time, the life and work of Alvin Ailey, one of the most beloved figures in modern dance, is examined by a writer uniquely able to place him and his legacy in perspective.
Merce Cunningham by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.C85 C66 2004
No Intermissions by
Agnes de Mille was one of the first American-born choreographers of stature - in synthesizing classical ballet technique with modern dance and American Folk dance, she created a unique form of modern ballet.
Martha Graham by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.G7 M27 2002
Marian Horosko brings together new and previously published interviews of Martha Graham's "family" of dancers, teachers, choreographers, and actors and interweaves them with provocative biographical material about the life and influence of the creator of classic modern dance.
Astaire and Rogers by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.A3 G35 2002
The book examines how the Astaire-Rogers musicals, which were produced and originally viewed as a series, relate to one another and to other musicals of their day.
Mr. Bojangles by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.R54 H37 1988
Here is the first biography of Bill Bojangles Robinson, the most famous tap dancer who ever lived. Written with the cooperation of many of Bill Robinson's friends and colleagues, it is also a fascinating account of the heyday of American musical entertainment. 16 pages of black-and-white photos.
Selected Books, EBooks
Jose Limón by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.L515 A3 1998
An illustrated autobiography of the early years of a major American choreographer.
Call Number: 0316057134
Set against the sweeping backdrop of Europe and the United States in the early 20th century, this is the story of Isadora Duncan--the most compelling account of her magnificent life yet.
Murray Louis on Dance by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.L68 A3 1992
"Murray Louis On Dance, written by one of today's great dancers, choreographers, and teachers, reveals what it's really like to be a performing artist.
Katherine Dunham by
Call Number: Circulating Collection GV1785.D82 A73 2002
More than a recounting of Dunham's accomplishments as a dancer and choreographer, this biography is the first to thoroughly examine her pioneering contributions to dance anthropology and her commitment to humanizing society through the arts.
Doris Humphrey by
Call Number: 0819560545