Articles-Databases - HIS 129 - Caribbean History - Dr. Christolyn Williams - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

20th Century Art

Databases for This Project

The following databases may offer a mix of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers and magzines that may include history, philosophy, literature, science, religion and art. Also see:

Databases A to Z Databases by Discipline

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, including fine art and archeology, Classics, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy- in nearly 300 full-text journals.

Primary Source Databases

Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
New York Times Historical, The (1851-5 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive offers full-text and full-image articles dating back to the 19th Century. Coverage from 1851 to 2009.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Collections of museum images and associated data for educational use. Includes slide and demonstration tools for research and teaching purposes.
Alexander Street Videos Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Academy®, Emmy® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction.

HIS 129 - Caribbean History - Dr. Christolyn Williams: Articles-Databases

20th Century Art

Databases for This Project

Primary Source Databases

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!