HIS 129 - Caribbean History - Dr. Christolyn Williams: Internet Resources

Academic book reviews, discussions, topical guides and more.

Academic book reviews, topical guides, blog posts and more.

Navigate to index for other Caribbean countries.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of books and other titles digitized from libraries around the world.

A growing archive of cultural and historical documents, images and artifacts. Includes bibliography of web sources by region.

Contemporary images of Carnival players.

Digitized artifacts from the Cuban Heritage Archives at University of Miami Library.

Digitized images and documents.

George Washington University - digitized documents from security agencies n Che Guevara.

Library of Congress Palabara Archive includes streaming sound recordings from their collections.

Podcasts and discussions from the The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition.

Animated thematic map narrates the spatial history of the greatest slave insurrection in the eighteenth century British Empire. To teachers and researchers, the presentation offers a carefully curated archive of key documentary evidence.

Emory University

Created by the Unpayable Debt Working Group, a project of the Center for the Study of Social Difference at Columbia University, this syllabus explores debt that is the result of a complex, five centuries-long history of colonial-capitalist extraction that continues in the present but is being increasingly contested by a range of political actors.

Columbia University

Excellent Research Guide created by NYU Libraries.

Includes primary sources by region: mainly cover the Caribbean Islands, including the island countries of Anguilla, Antigua-and-Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Kitts-and-Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent-and-the-Grenadines, Trinidad-and-Tobago, Turks-and-Caicos Islands, and United States Virgin Islands.