Getting Started - Background Information - HIST 134 African American History from 1865 - Prof Carr - Fall 2021 - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Gale EBooks
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Credo Reference
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.

GVRL HISTORY COLLECTION
A listing of available encyclopedias, source books, and compilations of primary source documents offered by the virtual reference library .

Chronology of the Civil Rights Movement
Provides a chronology of significant events in date order of the Civil Rights Movement.
"Ripples of Hope" - Speeches from Civil Rights History
Full Text of influential Civil Rights speeches.
Civil Rights Movements Investigate the FBI
From "Great Events in History": n the early 1970's, a number of civil rights groups—including the Citizens' Commission to Investigate the FBI, the Committee for Public Justice, and the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University—investigated documents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Central Intelligence Agency that suggested these federal agencies had conducted intrusive, if not illegal, campaigns against a number of antiwar and leftist organizations during the 1960's.
CHRONOLOGY from "African American History Vol 3"
Scroll in Index to bottom: Chronology