Use the tips under the Search Strategy tab to develop a list of keywords to search. Do not type in whole sentences.
If you are off campus, you will need to log-in using your MyWCC username and password.
Many databases can tell you about articles which could be helpful for your research, but they don't have the rights to reproduce.
You can limit your search to only give you results with full-text: look for a full-text box and check it off. You can also limit to full text after you've run your search. This assignment requires Scholarly/Peer Reviewed/ Academic journal articles.
If you find an article that is not available full-text, go to Journal Search (on the main catalog page) to find out if it is available in another database. You will need to sign in with your full MyWCC user id and password (i.e. include the @my.sunywcc.edu) if there is a full-text link. Be sure to note what year your article is from.
You can request any article (or book) that is not found in our library through interlibrary loan. Fill out the ILL form (under "How do I?" on the main library page). Keep in mind that it will take time to borrow the material from another library
Use the database toolbar to print, email and save your articles. Do not use your browser toolbar. Use the EMAIL link to save articles for later. Do not copy and paste the URL from your browser to find articles again, it will time out after your search session closes.
You will need to cite your sources in your paper. Many databases provide citations, but they are not in the correct format. If your citation doesn't note it is APA, it may not be correct. See the Citing and Plagiarism page in this guide for information on formatting your source citations correctly.
This video will show you how to find scholarly research articles in the library database, how to save and send and find the APA citation for your journal article reports.
Click on the Permalink icon for a shareable link you can send to Prof. Baez to have your articles approved or to your librarian if you have questions about the article content or usefulness in this project.
Do NOT copy and paste the URL in your browser window, it will time out after your search session.
WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) You may view a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project.
Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.
Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the drop downs under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results and save and send just the abstract or the entire article.)
Some of the databases (mainly Psychology) allow you to limit by research methodology. This is a good way to see examples of studies using the same method you will propose for your study even if they are not the same topic.
In Advance Search look under Limit Your Results for METHODOLOGY to see if this option is available. If not, add the methodology as one of your search keywords to limit your results. Be aware of varying terms (survey, questionnaire, poll, quantitative study) that can refer to similar but slightly different methods of research.
