Links below via Credo Reference. Require WCC log-in if off campus.
if you can't think of any ideas for your paper, try browsing through your textbook to find inspiration. Below you will find some sources that may also help get you started with topic ideas. You will need to log in with your MyWCC username and password if you are off-campus.
THESE DO NOT CONTAIN SCHOLARLY ARTICLES.
When searching the databases for articles, do not type in whole sentences. Pick out the key words in your assigned topic:
Nature vs Nurture on Personality Development of Separated Twins
Those will be your KEYWORDS to use when searching for sources.
e.g. search Nature vs Nurture AND Personality AND Twins
Think of other terms that can be used to describe the event you are researching and try those also: e.g. Nature: Genes, Heritability; Nurture: Environment, Psychosocial Factors
Be careful of words with multiple meanings, use alternate or additional words to clarify:
(e.g. Viking (Norse warrior); Viking (moon lander); Viking (football team); Viking (WCC student newspaper)
You might need to search multiple times in a single database before deciding it does not have any useful articles.
Use the asterisk * to truncate words and widen your search. Child* will search for Child, Children and Childhood.
Use quotation marks to keep phrases together: e.g. "Nature vs Nurture"
e.g. search "Nature vs Nurture" AND Twin* AND Personality
or Nature AND Nurture AND Twin* AND Behavior
or Environmental Factors AND "Personality Development" AND Twin*
Try your search terms in different combinations to get the greatest number of results.
The sources below do NOT contain scholarly articles. They are for background research and supplementary materials for your paper and presentation.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
This major revision of The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology follows the successful format of the health/medicine Gale Encyclopedia of ... line of titles. GEP-3 provides a robust 800-entry survey of the field of psychology including notable people, theories, and terms, as well as landmark case studies and experiments. Presenting authoritative information in an accessible manner, it serves students and public library patrons with new features to add interest and maximize understanding
The Sage Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology by
Drawing together a team of international scholars, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology examines the contemporary landscape of all the key theories and theorists, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Key features include: · Approximately 300 signed entries fill two volumes · Entries are followed by Cross-References and Further Readings · A Reader's Guide in the front matter groups entries thematically · A detailed Index and the Cross-References provide for effective search-and-browse in the electronic version · Back matter includes a Chronology of theory within the field of psychology, a Master Bibliography, and an annotated Resource Guide to classic books in this field, journals, associations, and their websites The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology is an exceptional and scholarly source for researching the theory of psychology, making it a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
Child Development
"Child Development offers 296 illustrated articles examining contemporary issues in the field of child and adolescent development. It features the latest research on growth and development during the prenatal, infant, toddler, preschool, middle childhood and adolescent periods. Appendices include an annotated list of Web sties and 40 tables of current statistical data.
APA College Dictionary of Psychology by 
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology by 
