Articles - Library Databases - Prof. Romanello - English 101 - Heroes - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Articles in Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, including fine art and archeology, Classics, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Database Search Tips

Limit your results to full-text so the database only provides you with the full text and not just the citation.

Before reading the whole text of the article browse the abstract. The abstract is a short summary of the article and will help you decided if the article addresses your topic. Some databases also supply subject terms. These can be useful keywords to search.

Email yourself a copy of the article (there should be an email button near the article) to ensure you have a copy of the article. Any email address will work (it doesn't have to be your WCC email). Emailing the article will also include a citation of the article you can use in your works cited page

Keep in mind the type of source you are look at. Databases commonly provide access to newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals.

Prof. Romanello - English 101 - Heroes: Articles - Library Databases

Articles in Library Databases

Database Search Tips

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!