Primary Source Materials - HIS 128 - African History to 1600 - Professor Carr - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

The Catalan Atlas

1375_Atlas_Catalan_Abraham_Cresques.jpg (11811×3850) (wikimedia.org)

Catalan Atlas [map]. Wikimedia, 1375, 1375_Atlas_Catalan_Abraham_Cresques.jpg (11811×3850) (wikimedia.org). Accessed 17 Feb. 2022.

Catalan Atlas is attributed to Cresques Abraham, a Majorican Jewish cartographer. Maps included information about curvature of the earth, cosmology, astrology, tides (Wikipedia).

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Redmon, Rob. “Primary vs Secondary Sources.” YouTube, YouTube, 2 Dec. 2013, www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=5&v=cqXHO7bTPnw.

Primary Sources on the Web

World Digital Library
From UNESCO (United Nations Education Scientific and Cultural Organization) The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
British Museum Collection Online
British Museum/Google - Museum of the World
An interactive tool that plots artifacts with Google Maps.

Databases

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Collections of museum images and associated data for educational use. Includes slide and demonstration tools for research and teaching purposes.

Museum Exhibitions and Collections

Caravans of Gold (Block Museum)
This site provides context for artifacts. Northwestern University Block Museum with loans from collections all over the world
Caravans of Gold (Smithsonian Museum of African Art)
On view through February 27, 2022.
Sahel: Art and Empires on the Shores of the Sahara (Metropolitan Museum)
Sahel, the region in Africa just south of the Sahara Desert that spans what is today Senegal, Mali, Mauritania, and Niger. Focuses on politics and trade routes and attempts to piece together a part of history not previously shown through objects.
Yale University Art Gallery African Art
Metropolitan Museum African Art Wing
Museum of the Black Diaspora

HIS 128 - African History to 1600 - Professor Carr: Primary Source Materials

The Catalan Atlas

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Primary Sources on the Web

Databases

Museum Exhibitions and Collections

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!