Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides: Steps in the Research Process: Find Articles in Library Databases

General Databases

Depending on your topic, the following databases may be good places to start your research.

Academic OneFile
GALE. More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.

JSTOR
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Subject Specific Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling
SocIndex
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Communications and Mass Media Complete
Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media.

Full Databases List

Our library has many more databases than are listed on this page. Depending on your topic, one of these other databases may be helpful in your research.

To find the full selection of databases, go to the LIBRARY HOMEPAGE.

Click on DATABASES and Popular Sources
Choose a general or subject-specific database to search for periodicals.

You can also click on the following, for a list of our databases from A to Z.

Databases A to Z

Steps in the Research Process: Find Articles in Library Databases

Find Resources

General Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Full Databases List

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!