Steps in the Research Process: Background Information

Use this guide to become a more skillful researcher. Learn how to develop research questions, choose credible sources, evaluate your sources, cite them correctly, and avoid plagiarism

Background Information

These recommended databases offer information in encyclopedias and other reference sources available online. These sources contain information that is credible, reliable and accurate.

Benefits of Background Information

Background reading/viewing is a great way to build a foundation for whatever subject you are investigating. While reading, you can identify and gather...

words or phrases that are specific to your topic,
major ideas and concepts related to your topic,
people, places, and time periods that are relevant to your topic,
related readings on your topic,
basic information on your topic (the who, the what, the where).

Databases for Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600