Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides: Eng 101 Controversial Issue- Professor Susan Courtney: Finding Articles

Start with Background Information

Background information is the foundation for research about your argument. Some of the benefits of background research include:

Obtaining information that answers basic information about your topic (the who, the what, the where, the when).
Acquiring knowledge of people, places, time periods that are relevant to your topic.
Identifying additional words or phrases that are specific to your topic to expand your search strategy.
Developing an awareness of major ideas related to your topic.
Locating additional readings on your topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.

Develop a list of keywords to search. Do not type in whole sentences.

Are you off campus? Login using your MyWCC username and password.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Gale Powersearch This link opens in a new window
Health care - discover dependable facts; Literature - track a bestseller or write a term paper; Environment - track the latest findings; Science - study current, credible research; Biographies - from history and today's headlines.
Search All EBSCO databases This link opens in a new window
Search ALL Proquest Databases