Gender Lens - Film 110H - Cinema Studies - Prof. Kreger - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Videos (streaming video)

Feminist Film Criticism (SEGMENT)
From Title: Lois Self: Foundations of Communication

Lois Self discusses the role of gender in film. She considers film production conditions and how they relate to the images of men and women.
© 2006 Educational Video Group

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.

Websites

Ebooks

The following is a sampling of ebooks available to you. Please hover over each title to view a description of the contents.

To search further, access our ebook collections:

EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Full text academic e-books from a variety of subject areas.
Ebsco EBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text academic e-books from a variety of subject areas.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.

Feminist in Literature by Janet Witalec; Jessica Bomarito
ISBN: 9780787675738
Publication Date: 2004-11-05
Deleuze and Film by Teresa Rizzo
ISBN: 9781441113405
Publication Date: 2012-06-28
Gender and Contemporary Horror in Film by Samantha Holland (Editor); Robert Shail (Editor); Steven Gerrard (Editor)
ISBN: 9781787698987
Publication Date: 2019-03-13
Queer Cinema by Barbara Mennel
ISBN: 9780231163132
Publication Date: 2012-10-23
LGBTQ Film Festivals by Antoine Damiens
ISBN: 9789048543892
Publication Date: 2020-04-06
Film and Sexual Politics by Kylo-Patrick R. Hart
ISBN: 9781847180377
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Straight by Wheeler Winston Dixon
ISBN: 9780791456231
Publication Date: 2003-01-30
Projecting 9/11 by Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo; Carmen R. Lugo-Lugo
ISBN: 9781442218260
Publication Date: 2014-10-16
Lesbian Cinema after Queer Theory by Clara Bradbury-Rance
ISBN: 9781474435369
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Women and Film by E. Ann Kaplan
ISBN: 9780415027649
Publication Date: 1990-12-31
Feminism and Film by Maggie Humm
ISBN: 9780748609086
Publication Date: 1997-03-01

Recommended Databases

In addition to the databases listed here, the following databases focus specifically on gender issues. Please hover over each title to view a description of the contents.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms

Aitken, S. C. "Movies and Films, Analysis of." International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, edited by Rob Kitchin and Nigel Thrift, vol. 7, Elsevier, 2009, pp. 196-200.

Print Books

This is a sampling of print titles you may find in the WCC Drimmer Library collection. Please hover over each title to read a brief description.

Multiple Voices in Feminist Film Criticism by Diane Carson; Linda Dittmar (Contribution by); Janice Welsch (Contribution by)
Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 M82 1994
ISBN: 9780816622733
Publication Date: 1993-12-22
Feminist Film Theory by Sue Thornham (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 F465 1999
ISBN: 9780814782446
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Chick Flicks by B. Ruby Rich
Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 R47 1998
ISBN: 9780822321217
Publication Date: 1998-09-30
The Woman at the Keyhole by Judith Mayne
Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 M36 1990
ISBN: 9780253206060
Publication Date: 1990-12-22
Woman Up by Julia Havas
Call Number: PN1992.8.W65 H38 2022
ISBN: 9780814346556
Publication Date: 2022-04-30
Ladies and Gentlemen, Boys and Girls by Murray Pomerance (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.S47 L33 2001
ISBN: 9780791448854
Publication Date: 2001-03-01

Film 110H - Cinema Studies - Prof. Kreger: Gender Lens

Videos (streaming video)

Websites

Ebooks

Recommended Databases

Print Books

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!