Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Sakarya ANTHR 210 Spring 2021 Oral History Religion Project: Oral Histories

Oral History Sites

The Story Corp Website (various individuals, do a key word search)

https://archive.storycorps.org

Great Depression

http://digital.wustl.edu/g/gds/  (true fulltext search)

Faith in the Modern World series of Ted Talks

Vietnamese Oral Histories (preview or do a key word search):

http://ucispace.lib.uci.edu/handle/10575/5884

Georgetown Oral Histories

Hazard-Lees Appalachian Oral History Project

Recorded interviews provide a glimpse into the people and places of Eastern Kentucky.

Southern Oral History Program (various databases/oral history collections)

Ellis Island Oral History Project

(you will need to create an account to view the oral histories)

Feroz Ali Abbasi (a Guantanamo Bay prisoner)

http://www.columbia.edu/cu/libraries/inside/ccoh_assets/ccoh_8954358_transcript.pdf

Scott & Teresa Day (members of the Crossroad Cowboy Church)

https://kuscholarworks.ku.edu/handle/1808/18256

Losang Tenzin, a fully ordained Buddhist monk (Reincarnation of the 5th Samdhong Rinpoche)

http://samdhongrinpoche.com/en/an-brief-biography-of-prof-samdhong-rinpoche/

Supplemental material regarding Losang Tenzin

Debra Hallow (Jewish non-profit leader of JARK)

https://youtu.be/rwJhAluNPk4

Baylor University Institute for Oral History

Founded in 1970, the institute has ongoing collection activities in the areas of arts and culture, Baylor's history, family life and community history, religion and culture, Texas Baptist history, Texas economic history, and the history of Waco-McLennan County.

California State University, Fullerton Center for Oral and Public History

The center develops, archives, and makes available to the public oral documentation pertaining to the personal, regional, ethnic, political, and international histories that link Southern California to the globalized world.

California State University, Long Beach Oral History Program

This instructional program within the history department has collections containing oral histories relating to labor history, Long Beach history, and women's history.

Columbia University Libraries Oral History Research Office

Founded in 1948, this program has completed nearly eight thousand taped memoirs and nearly one million pages of transcript documenting a wide variety of historical figures.

 University of California, Berkeley Regional Oral History Office

Founded in 1953, this office preserves the history of California, the San Francisco Bay area, the University of California, and the Western United States through oral histories in various subject areas.

University of California, Santa Cruz Regional History Project

Founded in 1963, this project conducts interviews documenting the history of agriculture in Santa Cruz County, the city of Santa Cruz, UC Santa Cruz, and the Lick Observatory.

University of Hawaii at Manoa Center for Oral History

Established in 1976 by the Hawaii State Legislature, the center preserves the recollections of Hawaii's people through oral interviews and disseminates them to researchers, students, and the general community.

University of Nevada, Reno Oral History Program

This program documents the history and culture of Nevada and the West through subjects including the casino gaming industry, the experiences of various ethnic groups in the development of the West, the Great Basin Indians, mining, and ranching.

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill Southern Oral History Program

Founded in 1973, the program seeks to foster a critical understanding of the South and its history, culture, problems, and prospects. It currently contains some 2,500 oral histories.

Vermont Folklife Center

The center is dedicated to preserving and presenting the folkarts and cultural traditions of Vermont and surrounding regions.

The Jewish Experience (all of these by definition would be appropriate)

https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/american-jewish-committee

Search Youtube for Oral Histories

You can also search youtube for oral histories though you will need to verify that these are credible sources. 

One way to to this is to limit your search to either colleges and universities (.edu) or government organizations (.gov)

So if you wanted to search for Buddhist oral histories from colleges use the following search string

"oral histories"  interview site:edu  Buddhist

Make sure verify that the video is an oral history and not an academic talking about oral histories. 

 

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600