Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Mathews Eng.101 Annotated Bibliography: Citing Common Source Types

Citing Common Source Types

Journal from a Library Database

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title, Volume, Number, Publication Date, Pages. Database, doi or URL. Access date is optional.

Register, Sophie E. “Maybe It’s Just Different with Girls: A Social-Ecological Analysis of Intimate Partner Violence in Female-on-Female Relationships.” International Social Science Review, vol. 94, no. 2, May 2018, pp. 1–27. Academic Search Complete, https://lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2346/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=131932324&site=ehost-live.

Online Journal

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title, Volume, Number, Publication Date, Pages, doi or URL. Access date.

Stansfeld, Steven, and Mary Haines. “Noise and Health in the Urban Environment.” Reviews on Environmental Health, vol. 15, no. 1-2, 2000, https://doi.org/10.1515/REVEH.2000.15.1-2.43. Accessed 8 June 2022.

Newspaper Article from a Library Database

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Journal Title, Volume, Number, Publication date, pages. Database, URL. 

Wong, Carissa. “Global Warming and Farming May Have Already Hit Insects.” New Scientist, vol, 254, no. 3384, 2022, p. 20. Science Direct, https://doi.org/10.1016/S0262-4079(22)00742-4.

Online Newspaper Article

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Newspaper Name, Publication Date, article URL. Access date.

Gupta, Sanjana. “What is School Violence?” VeryWellmind, 24 Jan. 2022, https://www.verywellmind.com/school-violence-types-causes-impact-and-prevention-5216631. Accessed 8 Jun. 2022.

Online Newspaper Article (cont.)

Mihir, Zaveri. “New York Targets Affluent Neighborhoods in Push for Affordable Housing.” New York Times, 23 Nov. 2021, https://www.proquest.com/nytimes/docview/2601005847/5E22B6949E62401CPQ/14?accountid=14174. Accessed 8 June. 2022.

Webpage

Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Web Page.” Name of Website, Organization/Agency /Publisher Creation Date, URL. Access Date.

Smith, Peter. “Gigantism and Dwarfism on Islands.” NOVA, PBS Online, 1 Nov. 2008, https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/evolution/ gigantism-and-dwarfismislands.html. Accessed 1 Apr. 2015.

Print Book

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Bevinton, David M. How to Read a Shakespeare Play. Blackwell, 2006.

Essay or Short Story from an Anthology or Collection

Last name, First name. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Name(s), Publisher, Year, Page range of entry.

Poe, Edgar Allan. “The Raven.” Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe, edited by         Harold Bloom, Doubleday, 1965, pp.754-756.

Online Encyclopedia Article (with author)

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Encyclopedia Title, Publication Date, article URL.

Access date.

Mill, Ann. "Ritual." Encyclopedia Britannica, 2015, www.academic.eb.com/article/142.

Accessed June 2, 2011

Online Encyclopedia Article (no author)

“Title of Article.” Encyclopedia Title, Publication Date, article URL. Access date.

"Ideology." Encyclopdia Britannica, 2015, www.academic.eb.com/article/148. Accessed June 2, 2016.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600