Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Mathews Eng.101 Annotated Bibliography: The Process of Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Process of Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Creating an annotated bibliography calls for the application of a variety of intellectual skills: concise exposition, succinct analysis, and informed library research.

  1. First, locate and record citations to books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic
  2. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.
  3. Cite the book, article, or document using the appropriate style.
  4. Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that: 
    • evaluate the authority or background of the author,
    • comment on the intended audience,
    • compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or (d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

This portion of this research guide was borrowed from a LibGuide created by Collette Mak/updated and maintained by Leslie L. Morgan, Hesburgh Libraries, University of Notre Dame.

Process

1.) Locate Works - Find books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. 

2.) Select the Best of your research that provide a variety of perspectives, and if leading to a documented essay, works that you feel will provide the best support for your essay.

3.) Cite the book, article, or document using MLA Style. You may employ to help you organize, make notes and to generate your Bibliography. 

4.) Annotate - Write approximately 150 words that summarize the central theme and scope of the source. Include one or more sentences that:

(a) evaluate the authority or background of the author

(b) comment on the intended audience

(c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited or

(d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600