Prof. Ostman - ENG 101 - Monsters Assignment: Books and EBooks

An exploration of authors and literary works that are identified with the American thriller, and its themes and stories. Focuses on individual authors’ body of work, and literary themes. Includes a list of related thrillers not discussed in the book and a bibliography of critical sources to study this subject in greater depth.

Zombies, vampires, and other paranormal creatures are hot topics in popular and literary culture. Vividly illustrated, including some of the author's own drawings.

Zombies, vampires and ghosts feature prominently in nearly all forms of entertainment in the 21st century, including popular fiction, film, comics, television and computer games. Monsters don't just invade popular culture, they help sell popular culture. This collection of new essays covers 150 years of enduringly popular Gothic monsters who have shocked and horrified audiences in literature, film and comics. The contributors unearth forgotten monsters and reconsider familiar ones, examining the audience taboos and fears they embody.

In this volume, Stephen Prince has collected essays reviewing the history of the horror film and the psychological reasons for its persistent appeal, as well as discussions of the developmental responses of young adult viewers and children to the genre. The book focuses on recent postmodern examples such as The Blair Witch Project. In a daring move, the volume also examines Holocaust films in relation to horror.

Explains how the literary vampire became the ubiquitous horror figure it is today.

The horror film, which Mark A. Vieira calls the escape valve of the American psyche, is imprinted on popular culture. Hollywood Horror captures all the mystery, power, dark humour and chilling beauty of the genre from its roots in the silent film era to 1968, which, according to Vieira, marks the end of the classic scary movie. aspect of cinematic horror, from seminal icons such as James Whale's Frankenstein and Tod Browning's Dracula to the steamy pre-Code jungle sorcery of The Island of the Lost Souls.

An introduction to the world of witches and wizards in Greek and Roman antiquity.

Examines the effect Halloween has had on popular culture through the literary works of Washington Irving and Ray Bradbury, films like Halloween and The Nightmare Before Christmas, and television shows such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer and The Simpsons.

A selection of essays on international films in the horror genre. Illuminates the distinct multicultural factors of this exciting cinematic genre.

A collection of thirty vampire stories by such authors as Bram Stoker, Fritz Leiber, Stephen King, Richard Matheson, Robert Bloch, Charles L. Grant, Tanith Lee, and Ramsey Campbell.

An account of the complex relationship between technology and romanticism that links nineteenth-century monsters, automata, and mesmerism with twenty-first-century technology's magic devices and romantic cyborgs.

An analysis of the psychology behind the persistent belief in paranormal phenomena, identifying the major players in cryptozoology, discussing the character of its subculture, and considering the challenge it poses to clear and critical thinking in our increasingly complex world.

Chapters on "ghosts" in anime, as well as "Akira and Ranma 1/2 : the monstrous adolescent."

The first book in the new Great Authors and Philosophy series, Stephen King and Philosophy reveals some of the deeper issues raised by King's work. From retribution, freedom, and moral relativity, to death and insanity, the chapters of this book expose how King's stories access the questions and fears that haunt each of us in the middle of the night.

This wide-ranging volume brings together thinkers from an array of disciplines to consider Lovecraft's contemporary cultural presence and its implications.

A groundbreaking perspective on the creativity and influence of horror cinema since the mid-1970s. Investigating the popularity of the low-budget tradition, Carol Clover looks in particular at slasher, occult, and rape-revenge films.

The City Since 9/11 includes essays on the films Children of Men, Hugo, and the adaptation of Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, chapters on the television series The Bridge, The Killing, and The Wire, and an analysis of Michael Arad's Reflecting Absence and the 9/11 Memorial.

Explores images of vampirism in Caribbean and African diasporic folk traditions and in contemporary fiction. Anatol shows how tales of the nocturnal female bloodsuckers not only entertain and encourage obedience in pre-adolescent listeners, but also work to instill particular values about women's "proper" place and behaviors in society at large.nbsp; Alongside traditional legends, Anatol considers the explosion of soucouyant and other vampire narratives among writers of Caribbean and African heritage who in the past twenty years have rejected the demonic image of the character and used her instead to urge for female mobility, racial and cultural empowerment, and anti colonial resistance. Texts include work by authors as diverse as Nobel Laureate Toni Morrison, U.S. National Book Award winner Edwidge Danticat, and science fiction/fantasy writers Octavia Butler and Nalo Hopkinson.

“An authoritative new history of the vampire, two hundred years after it first appeared on the literary scene. . . Groom accordingly traces the vampire from its role as a monster embodying humankind's fears, to that of an unlikely hero for the marginalized and excluded in the twenty-first century. . . Drawing on literary and artistic representations, as well as medical, forensic, empirical, and sociopolitical perspectives, this rich and eerie history presents the vampire as a strikingly complex being that has been used to express the traumas and contradictions of the human condition.”

The epidemic of the living dead is stronger than ever in today's pop-culture, but history is rife with tales of the undead: the dark spells and incantations of the ancient Egyptians, the Sumerians and the Babylonians, among many others. The Zombie Book: The Encyclopedia of the Living Dead is a comprehensive resource to understanding, combating and avoiding zombies. More than 250 entries cover everything from hit television shows, books and movies, including The Walking Dead, and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (Qurik, 2009), to zombies' ignominious role in folklore.

A fascinating read for anyone from general readers to hardcore fans and scholars, this encyclopedia covers every aspect of the zombie as cultural phenomenon, including film, literature, folklore, music, video games, and events.

Twenty-six tales of the walking dead reanimated by black magic, weird science, outer space viruses, and human irresponsibility indulging in malevolent mischief and mayhem. Covers more than a century of horror history showing the many aspects of this nightmare of the living dead in all its gory glory.