Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a stand-alone database that allows you to search across many encyclopedia articles. It is like Wikipedia, but with more authority and reliability.
Use GVRL to brainstorm a concept, gather facts and background information, and to look up definitions. Unlike many of our other databases, GVRL is NOT available from the search box on the homepage. You must look it up under the Databases tab.
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
American Mythology by
Call Number: E-Reference (GVRL)
Publication Date: 2013
This volume explores some of the popular myths of the modern United States and discusses their role in the culture and the values they reflect. The book covers details about legendary ghost ships, haunted houses, pirate treasure, monsters, and lost cities, and relates these stories to the experiences and values of American culture.
Gothic Literature by
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2006
Provides a broad contextual understanding of topics and movements in literature and the humanities. This exciting three-volume set spans all facets of the gothic, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, and themes and settings. Complete with primary source documents and critical material to provide contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, lists of further readings and many other extras, this new set benefits everyone from students doing gothic research to the general gothic fiction reader.
The Encyclopedia of Japanese Horror Films by
Publication Date: 2016
Each film entry includes comprehensive details, situates the film in the context and history of Japanese horror cinema, and provides brief suggestions for further reading. Although emphasizing horror as a general theme, this encyclopedia also encompasses other genres that are associated with this theme, including Comedy Horror, Science Fiction Horror, Cyber-punk Horror, Ero Guru (Erotic Grotesque), and Anime Horror.
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by
Call Number: E-Reference (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Publication Date: 2000
Covers phenomena, concepts, cults, personalities, organizations and publications. Traces the development of occultism and parapsychology.
Literary Movements for Students by
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2009
"Literary Movements for Students is designed to meet the needs of students and researchers studying literary movements and the specific works representative of various movements.