Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DATABASE SEARCH TIPS
1.) Spend some additional time brainstorming keywords and search terms based on the subject's life and/or significant political/historical events.
2.) Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.
3.) When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.
Trial for Witchcraft-New England, 1692. transparency, collodion on glass, ca.1885. C.W. Briggs Company, George Eastman House. ArtStor Digital Library, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu/login?url=http:www.artstor.org. Accessed on 20 Sept. 2016.
Databases / Scholarly Sources
America: History & Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Archive of over 1,000 leading journals across the humanities, social sciences and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, including fine art and archeology, Classics, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.
*Quality* History Magazines
These sites are well-researched, but not of "scholarly" caliber.