Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Starters - Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Education: Research Starters Topic
Early childhood education programs have flourished over the past few decades as more and more parents come to believe in the benefits of starting children's education as early as possible and find themselves in need of daycare. Early childhood education curriculum aims to encourage growth in all six developmental domains, though actual curriculum content can vary between programs. There are numerous Research Starter articles related to this topic.
Pros and cons of controversial issues. Read pro and con arguments for and against topics such as medical marijuana, euthanasia, prostitution, gun control, and more.
Reference Databases for Background Information
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Benefits of Background Information
- Words or phrases that are specific to your topic.
- Major ideas related to your topic
- People places, time periods that are relevant to your topic
- Additional readings on your topic
- Information thats answers basic information on your topic (the who, the what, the where, the when)