Articles - STEM Education and Women - Science, Technology, Engineering and Math - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Magazine/Journal Articles - Women and STEM

Here is a sampling of some of the most recent literature published about Women in STEM. To find more literature, please use the databases on the left hand column of this page.

Where Are All the Talented Girls? How Can We Help Them Achieve in Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics -- Journal for the Education of the Young Scientist & Giftedness; Dec2016, vol. 4 issue 2, p29-42

Women in STEM: Their Evolution, Triumphs and Challenges - Economics of Education Review; volume 29, issue 6, December 2010, Pages 911–922
Why Are Some STEM Fields More Gender Balanced Than Others? - Psychological Bulletin; Jan2017, vol. 143 issue 1, p1-35, 35p
Equal? Not Quite - SC Magazine, July/Aug 2016.
The Only Girl at Her Science Camp - New York Times (Online), New York: New York Times Company. Mar 25, 2016.
Tools for Change: Boosting the Retention of Women in the STEM Pipeline - Journal of Research in Gender Studies; Vol. 6, Issue 1 (2016).
The Missing Women in Stem - Assessing gender differentials in the factors associated with transition to first jobs - Social Science Research March 2017 63:192-208
Persistence of women and minorities in STEM field majors: Is it the school that matters? - Economics of Education Review; volume 29, issue 6, December 2010, Pages 911–922
Math Confidence Discourages Female Students from Pursuing STEM Disciplines: Current Knowledge, Implications for Practice, Policy, and Future Directions - Educational Psychology Review ; volume 29, issue 1, 1 March 2017, Pages 119-140
Focusing on Women in STEM: A Longitudinal Examination of Gender Based Earning Gap of College Graduates - Journal of Higher Education; Jul/Aug2015, vol. 86 issue 4, p489-523. 35p.
It’s not my Party: A Critical Analysis of Women and Minority Opposition towards STEM - Critical Questions in Education; v7 n2 p96-115 Sum 2016. 20 pp.
Do Women Earn Less Than Men in STEM Careers - Scientific American - The Sciences, Jan. 1, 2015

More Magazine/Journal Articles

Women On The 'Erge
Scientific American Mind. May/Jun2015, Vol. 26 Issue 3
Science Has a Gender Problem.
Scientific American. Dec2016, Vol. 315 Issue 6,

Find More in Library Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Online access to many of the journals published by Elsevier science publishing. Subject coverage includes the natural and social sciences.
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text Resource for the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Full text for 1,358 journals
and indexing and abstracts for thousands of academic journals, professional publications and other reference sources.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

STEM Education and Women - Science, Technology, Engineering and Math: Articles

Magazine/Journal Articles - Women and STEM

Tools for Change: Boosting the Retention of Women in the STEM Pipeline - Journal of Research in Gender Studies; Vol. 6, Issue 1 (2016).

The Missing Women in Stem - Assessing gender differentials in the factors associated with transition to first jobs - Social Science Research March 2017 63:192-208

Focusing on Women in STEM: A Longitudinal Examination of Gender Based Earning Gap of College Graduates - Journal of Higher Education; Jul/Aug2015, vol. 86 issue 4, p489-523. 35p.

It’s not my Party: A Critical Analysis of Women and Minority Opposition towards STEM - Critical Questions in Education; v7 n2 p96-115 Sum 2016. 20 pp.

More Magazine/Journal Articles

Find More in Library Databases

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!