Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse by name (e.g. Academic Search Complete):
Select a subject to view available guides:
The content you will find in books, will range from the broad overview of the encyclopedia, to handbooks covering your field, to more focused studies on a topic or area. You may also find memoirs, long form journalism, or works of philosophy on a particular subject.
WCC subscribes to dozens of print periodicals, including newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Our electronic databases, which are organized by subject area will bring you:
- ACADEMIC JOURNALS
- VIDEOS AND TRANSCRIPTS
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Authoritative, full-text database for education scholarship, covers topics from early childhood education to parent-teacher relations.
A bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations on education topics going back to 1966.
Social Sciences Full Text
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Vocational & Career Collection
Full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry periodicals, covering career-related fields.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides news and information services of interest to faculty, administrators and students in the field of higher education. Access to every news article and essay since 1989 and every daily web-only news story since May 1998.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
The Internet is helpful for gathering background information and for accessing:
- STATISTICS & ORIGINAL DATA
- REPORTS AND SURVEYS FROM NON PROFIT ENTITIES
- GOVERNMENT INFORMATION
- LOCAL AND NATIONAL NEWS
- BLOGS OF REPUTABLE FIGURES
- FEDERAL LAWS AND LEGISLATION
- AUDIO AND VIDEO
Questioning the Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy and Purpose (OPEN CRAAP TEST) of a source becomes very important when using an Internet source.