Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Preliminary exploration of your topic will provide you with key ideas, terminology, and/or dates necessary to help you to gain a better understanding of your research topic and can also provide ideas for narrowing the focus of your research topic if needed.
Subject encyclopedias, such as the titles included here, are specialized sources written by experts in that field and serve as excellent sources to gain a better understanding of your research topic. Although subject encyclopedias are excellent sources of background information, some course instructors may prefer that you not cite any encyclopedia in the references list of your research project. If you are not sure whether an encyclopedia is an appropriate source to cite, please ask your course instructor.
Background Information - Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
Call Number: Reference Collection, 1st Floor HV6017 .E527 2010 Library use only
The Blackwell Companion to Criminology by
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6025 .B544 2004 3-wk loan
An Introduction to Criminological Theory by
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6001 .B87 2001 3-wk loan
Criminological Theories by
Call Number: Circulating Collection HV6018 .A38 1997 3-wk loan
A Dictionary of Criminal Justice by
Call Number: EBooks
From Credo Reference Online Database
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
From Gale Virtrual Reference Library Online Database
A collection of encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects.
Searchable as a group /individually.