Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books, EBooks - General
A Companion to Film Comedy by
Call Number: Electronic Resource Ebrary EBook
A wide-ranging collection of 24 essays exploring film comedy from the silent era to the present. International in scope,essays explore sub-genres, performers, and cultural perspectives such as gender, politics, and history in addition to individual works. Engages with different strands of comedy including slapstick, romantic, satirical and ironic.
Sounding Funny by
Call Number: Circulating Collection ML2075 .S676 2016 3-wk loan
This volume covers all aspects of sound (including dialogue) and music as they have been utilised in comedy film.
Class, Language, and American Film Comedy by
Call Number: Circulating Collection PN1995.9.C55 B43 2002 3-wk loan
This book examines the evolution of American film comedy through the lens of language and the portrayal of social class.
Books, EBooks on Films
Life Is Beautiful, but Not for Jews by
Call Number: Circulating Collection PN1997.V5373 N5813 2003 3-wk loan
Publication Date: 2003-09-29
With sharp, uncompromising logic and eye-opening insight, Niv analyzes the film and its script scene-by-scene to show why Life is Beautiful is very far from being the innocent, charming, and heartwarming film it appears to be.
Laughing Dead by
Call Number: Circulating Collection PN1995.9.H6 L375 2016
In The Laughing Dead: The Horror-Comedy Film from Bride of Frankenstein to Zombieland, editors Cynthia J. Miller and A. Bowdoin Van Riper have compiled essays on the comic undead that look at the subgenre from a variety of perspectives. Spanning virtually the entire sound era, this collection considers everything from classics like The Canterville Ghost to modern cult favorites like Shaun of the Dead.
Comedy Italian Style by
Call Number: Circulating Collection PN1995.9.C55 L36 2008
Included filmmaker Pietro Germi with Divorce Italian Style (1961).
Tears of Laughter by
Call Number: Circulating Collection PN1995.9.C55 M383 2006 3-wk loan
Publication Date: 2006-03-01