Find Books, E-Books, Media, and Periodicals - HIS 131 - Modern Africa - Professor Christolyn Williams - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

RESERVE COLLECTION

A History of Modern Africa by Richard J. Reid
Call Number: RESERVE Circ Desk DT20.R45 2012/CIRC DESK
ISBN: 9780470658987
Publication Date: 2012
Updated and revised to emphasise long-term perspectives on current issues facing the continent, the new 2nd Edition of A History of Modern Africa recounts the full breadth of Africa's political, economic, and social history over the past two centuries.
The Battle of Algiers
Call Number: Media PN1997 .B347 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Casbah Films. ; Igor Film. ; Criterion Collection (Firm) ; Pontecorvo, Gillo, 1919-2006. ; Solinas, Franco, 1927-1982. ; Haggiag, Brahim. ; Martin, Jean, 1922-2009. ; Kerbash, Samia. ; Paletti, Ugo. ; Gatti, M. (Marcello) ; Morricone, Ennio. ; Saadi, Yacef, 1928- ;

Dr. Williams's Books on Reserve

E-REFERENCE

Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.

BOOKLISTS

Africa's Best 100 Books of the 20th Century
Columbia University Libraries

BOOKS / E-BOOKS

EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Full text academic e-books from a variety of subject areas.
Ebsco EBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text academic e-books from a variety of subject areas.

Africa (Photography Series) by John Reader; Michael Lewis (Photographer)
Call Number: Circulating Collection DT12.25 .F6513 2006
Publication Date: 2001
Combines photography and text to capture the diverse landscapes, wildlife, and peoples of Africa, from the Sahara of northern Africa to the Southern Veld, from Kilimanjaro to the Niger River.
Middle Passages by James T. Campbell
Call Number: Circulating Collection DT12.25 .C36 2006
Publication Date: 2006
For most, the middle passage across the Atlantic was truly a voyage of no return. But beginning in the eighteenth century, a small number of African Americans found their way back to their ancestral continent. The roster includes many of the central figures in African American intellectual and political life, including Martin Delany, Langston Hughes, W.E.B. Du Bois, Eslanda Robeson, Richard Wright, Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, and Maya Angelou, to name only a few.
Saving Nelson Mandela by Kenneth S. Broun
Call Number: E-Book Proquest Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2012
In 1963, when South Africa's apartheid government charged Nelson Mandela with planning its overthrow, most observers feared that he would be sentenced to death. But the support he and his fellow activists in the African National Congress received during his trial not only saved his life, but also enabled him to save his country.
African Migrations by Abdoulaye Kane (Editor); Todd H. Leedy (Editor)
Call Number: Circulating Collection DT16.5 .A345 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The contributors to this volume, reflecting a variety of disciplinary perspectives, examine the causes and consequences of this new migration. The essays cover topics such as rural-urban migration into African cities, transnational migration, and the experience of immigrants abroad, as well as the issues surrounding migrant identity and how Africans re-create community and strive to maintain ethnic, gender, national, and religious ties to their former homes.