Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides: STEM 2025 Summer Research Institution; Female Students and Self-Censorship: Books and Ebooks

Circulating Books - Women and STEM

Empowering Women in STEM : Working Together to Inspire the Future / Sanya Mathura
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor ; TA157.5 .E46 2024

ISBN: 9781032679495

Publication Date: 2024

Written for professionals and university students thinking about career choices. It bridges the gap between those who are thinking about entering or leaving STEM careers, along with those who want to encourage others into STEM careers.
The Only Woman in the Room : Why Science is Still a Boys' Club / Eileen Pollack
Call Number: Circulating Collection ; HQ1397 .P65 2015

ISBN: 9780807046579

Publication Date: 2015

Shows the struggles of women in the sciences, and hope for changing attitudes and behaviors that could bring more women into STEM fields in which they remain seriously underrepresented.
Pathways, Potholes, and the Persistence of Women in Science / Catherine White Berheide
Call Number: Circulating Collection Q130 .P384

ISBN: 9781498516365

Publication Date: 2016

Articulates the ideas of gender and agency along the path to scientific careers for women and identifies challenges to diversify science. Contains insights about training for and building a career in science.
Women Breaking In : How Choices Shape STEM Careers / Ann Wolverton
Call Number: Circulating Collection Q130 .W62 2015

ISBN: 9781579224295

Publication Date: 2015

Showcases the stories of eight women scientists who have achieved successful careers in the academy, industry and government. Offers insights into the challenges and barriers that women face in entering STEM careers, their motivations, and the choices they made along their paths.

Ebooks

Women of Color in STEM : Navigating the Double Bind in Higher Education / Beverly Erby (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781648023712

Publication Date: 2021

Researchers have found environmental and social barriers including stereotypes, gender bias, and the climate of science and engineering departments in colleges and universities that continue to block women's progress in STEM. In this book, the authors address the issues that encounter women of color in STEM in higher education.
Manifesto about Women in STEM : 50 Positive and Impactful Texts / Louise Lafortune
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 2897993839

Publication Date: 2022

A collection of essays about women in STEM that discuss their experiences and contributions in these traditionally male-dominated fields. Provides insights into the importance of gender balance, the societal benefits of diverse perspectives, and strategies for inclusivity and retention of women in STEM careers. The text highlights the achievements, challenges, and advocacy efforts for gender equity and diversity in STEM.
Women's Influence on Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity in STEM Fields / Ursula Thomas (Editor); Jill Drake (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781522588726

Publication Date: 2019

Investigates the bias, stereotyping, societal factors, and workplace perceptions experienced by women within STEM-based career fields, as well as issues with advocacy and leadership. Discusses knowledge sharing, information literacy, and STEM career path choices among girls at the secondary school level.
Culturally Responsive Strategies for Reforming STEM in Higher Education by Kelly M. Mack (Editor); Kate Winter (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 9781787434059

Publication Date: 2019

Provides a platform for understanding the cultural complexities and institutional realities of recruiting and retaining diverse students in STEM, particularly the computer sciences.

STEM 2025 Summer Research Institution; Female Students and Self-Censorship: Books and Ebooks

Circulating Books - Women and STEM

Ebooks

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!