Develop a Search Strategy / Databases - COR 121 Probation and Parole FALL 2024 - Prof. Czarnecki - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Planning Your Search Strategy

Search Strategies: using keywords, synonyms, related concepts and truncation:

Relevant keywords are necessary for effective research. You can start by taking keywords from your thesis statement or research question.

There are other ways to develop additional keywords.

1. Use synonyms and related concepts:

When you do a search using the databases, look at the subject terms of the articles that appear in your search results. Can use any of those?
Think of synonyms for your keywords.
- Examples:
  - supervision OR electronic surveillance
  - parole boards OR parole officers
  - women OR females

2. Use truncation:

You can broaden your search results by typing an asterisk symbol * at end of the root of a word. When you do this, the computer will search for alternative endings for the word you have typed.

For example,

Typing crim* will yield results for

crime(s) criminal(s) criminality criminalize criminology

Databases for Background Information on Your Topic

Gale EBooks
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.

Suggested Databases

JSTOR
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Criminal Justice Periodicals
The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Ethnic News Watch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.
New York Times, The (1980-present)
Full text from 1980 - present.
New York Times Historical, The (1851-5 years ago)
Digital archive offers full-text and full-image articles dating back to the 19th Century. Coverage from 1851 to 2009.

COR 121 Probation and Parole FALL 2024 - Prof. Czarnecki: Develop a Search Strategy / Databases

Planning Your Search Strategy

Databases for Background Information on Your Topic

Suggested Databases

YouTube - WCC Library Tutorials

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!