Getting Started - Background Information - HIST. 111 - U.S. 19th Century History - Prof. Vecchio - Spring 2021 - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Gale EBooks

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.

Gale eBooks HISTORY COLLECTION
A listing of available encyclopedias, source books, and compilations of primary source documents offered by the virtual reference library .

Encyclopedias and eBooks

American History Through Its Greatest Speeches: A Documentary History of the United States [3 Volumes] / Jolyon P. Girard (Editor); Courtney Smith (Editor); Darryl Mace (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781610699709
Publication Date: 2016
Examines hundreds of speeches from colonial times to the modern era. Examines the motivations behind each speech as well as the effect on the audiences that heard them.
American Eras Primary Sources : Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850 / Gale Editors (Editor); Gale Staff (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414498270
Publication Date: 2014
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Reform Era and eastern United States development in U.S. history.
American Eras : Civil War and Reconstruction, 1860-1877 / Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414498256
Publication Date: 2013
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Civil War and Reconstruction Era in U.S. history.
American Eras : Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899 / Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414498249
Publication Date: 2013
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the era of industrial development in U.S. history.
Abolition Movement / Thomas Adams Upchurch
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313386077
Publication Date: 2011
Tells the story of the men and women who spent their lives and fortunes trying to abolish the institution of slavery in the United States.
Social Policy : Essential Primary Sources / K. Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Wilmoth Lerner (Editor); Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414403281
Publication Date: 2006
These volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
Supreme Court Decisions (1803-2017) : Defining Documents in American History/ Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682175859
Publication Date: 2017
An in-depth analysis of important historical cases and documents from the U.S. Supreme Court covering a broad range of critical topics.

Encyclopedias and eBooks

What Happened? An Encyclopedia of Events That Changed America Forever / John E. Findling; Frank W. Thackeray
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598846225
Publication Date: 2010
Covers critically important events in American history from the 17th century to the present.
Women's Rights in the United States / Tiffany K. Wayne (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781610692151
Publication Date: 2014
A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women’s rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day.
African Americans in the Nineteenth Century / Dixie Ray Haggard (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598841244
Publication Date: 2010
Portrays the lives of African Americans in the 19th century. Covers pre- and post-Civil War eras including a chronology of historic economic, military, political, and social events impacting African American communities.
Manifest Destiny and the New Nation, 1803-1860 / Salem Press Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781429837422
Publication Date: 2013
This collection provides historical documents related to the expansion of the United States in the first half of the 19th century, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions.
American Civil War Reference Library / UXL Staff
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780787638184
Publication Date: 1999
Comprehensive coverage of events and chronology of battles. Primary sources include speeches, newspaper accounts, novels, poems, memoirs and other documents that reflect a wide range of viewpoints.
The Battle of Gettysburg / Kevin Hillstrom
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780780813236
Publication Date: 2013
Provides a detailed account of the American Civil War. Examines the forces that contributed to the war; early military battles, the Battle of Gettysburg; and the legacy of the Civil War. Includes biographies, primary sources, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and index.
Political Campaigns, Candidates and Discourse by Salem Press Editors; Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682177006
Publication Date: 2018
Primary documents and commentary on the American political process of the 1800s, including candidates, issues, and campaign styles.
The Underground Railroad / Kerry Walters
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598846478
Publication Date: 2012
Covers the efforts of hundreds of dedicated persons from all walks of life that helped slave fugitives find freedom in the decades leading up to the Civil War.
Opposition to War: an Encyclopedia of U. S. Peace and Antiwar Movements [2 Volumes] / Mitchell K. Hall (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440845192
Publication Date: 2018
Documents peace and antiwar movements from the colonial era to the present, examining how war and those who oppose war have been portrayed in popular media over the centuries.

HIST. 111 - U.S. 19th Century History - Prof. Vecchio - Spring 2021: Getting Started - Background Information

Gale EBooks

Encyclopedias and eBooks

Encyclopedias and eBooks

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!