Develop a Search Strategy / Databases - Prof. Rubenstein - Eng. 101 - SPRING 2025 Civil Disobedience - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Planning Your Search Strategy

Search Strategies: using keywords, synonyms/related concepts, truncation and subject terms:

Relevant keywords are necessary for effective research. You can start by taking keywords from your thesis statement or research question:

Is it ever permissible to break the law?

There are other ways to develop additional keywords.

1. Use synonyms and related concepts:

When you do a search using the databases, look at the subject terms of the articles that appear in your search results. Can use any of those?
Think of synonyms for your keywords.
- Examples:
  - civil resistance OR civil disorder
  - social movements OR political movements
  - reason OR justification
  - public demonstrations OR marches OR sit-ins

2. Use truncation:

You can broaden your search results by typing an asterisk symbol * at end of the root of a word. When you do this, the computer will search for alternative endings for the word you have typed.

For example,

Typing protest* will yield results for

protests protesting protested protesters

3. Use subject terms from articles in your search results:

Suggested Databases

Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
JSTOR
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.
Ethnic News Watch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.

Prof. Rubenstein - Eng. 101 - SPRING 2025 Civil Disobedience: Develop a Search Strategy / Databases

Planning Your Search Strategy

Suggested Databases

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!