Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles About Your Film in Library Databases
The following Library databases may be used to retrieve articles written by critics and academics about film and literature.
You can enter the title of the film in any of these databases and find articles. To broaden your search, consider using the name of the Director, Actor, Producer, Novelist, or including the theme, genre or style elements of the film. E.g.:
PRISON FILM and Shawshank WAR SCENE in Atonement CLASS in Atonement Puzo and "IMMIGRATION Story" JUSTICE and To Kill a mockingbird
The databases Academic Search Complete and Literature Resource Center offer more in the way of critical reviews and papers.
Academic Search Complete
EBSCO. A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
EBSCO. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media.
Film & Television Literature with Full Text
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV archive.
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
The New York Times Historical
Digital archive offers full-text and full-image articles dating back to the 19th Century. Coverage from 1851 to 2009.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biography, bibliography, and synopses of criticism of authors and their works, in all fields. Includes references and links to the original sources.