Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Junkyard planet : travels in the billion-dollar trash trade / Adam Minter
Call Number: Circulating Collection HD9975 .A2 M495 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Journalist Adam Minter travels into a vast multibillion-dollar industry that is transforming our economy and environment. Minter traces the export of America's recyclables and the massive profits that China and other rising nations earn from it. Junkyard Planet reveals how "going green" usually means making money, and why that's often the most sustainable choice.
Green technology : an A-to-Z guide / Dustin Mulvaney (Editor)
Call Number: Circulating Collection TA170 .G75 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This tenth volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society explores the essential role of technology and its most recent developments toward a sustainable environment. With a primary focus on waste management, the volume presents over 150 articles in A-to-Z format.
Energy : what everyone needs to know / Jose Goldemberg
Call Number: Circulating Collection TJ163.3 .G65 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Nuclear physicist Goldemberg takes readers through the basics of the world energy system, its problems, and the technical as well as non-technical solutions to the most pressing energy problems.
Problem-solving exercises in green and sustainable chemistry / Albert S. Matlack; Andrew P. Dicks
Call Number: Circulating Collection TP155.2 .E58 M39 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Teaches students how to analyze and solve green and sustainable chemistry problems that occur in an environmental context, and encourages creativity in developing solutions to situations based on actual events. The final chapter contains proposed solutions and provides commentaries and references to relevant literature.
Why ecology matters / Charles J. Krebs
Call Number: Circulating Collection QH541 .K677 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Highlights key principles in ecology from species extinction to the sun's role in powering ecosystems. Each chapter introduces a question and links it to pressing ecological issues in which humans play a central role, such as the spread of invasive species, climate change, overfishing, and biodiversity conservation.
Books on Reserve at WCC
These books are for use in the library only, and may be checked out for two hours with your student ID card. They are located at the Circulation Desk.
Firefly Encyclopedia of trees / edited by Stephen Cafferty.
Call Number: Reference Collection, 1st Floor QK474.87 .F57 2005
Publication Date: 2005
This encyclopedia is a comprehensive guide to trees of the world organized as an A-Z directory. Information for each tree includes a concise taxonomic description with detailed captions describing the dimensions and characteristics of each tree.
Color photographs and illustrations depict each tree family in summer and fall, with descriptions of trunk structure, bark texture, root systems, leaf shapes and functions, flowers, fruit, seeds and nuts.