Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COLSC 101 : Career Research - Prof. Leerhsen: Articles

Suggested Databases

Below are databases that are especially useful for this assignment.

If you need help, ask a Librarian.

How to Search for Career Information

To find articles on career related topic, search the databases using the suggested keywords combinations. Do not type full sentences. You may need to narrow or broaden your career/job title or use other career related phrases to find the information you need.

  • careers and {insert career name here}
  • career development and {insert career name here}
  • occupations and {insert career name here}
  • wages and {insert career name here}
  • job outlook and {insert career name here}
  • skills and {insert career name here}
  • training and {insert career name here}
  • salary and {insert career name here}
  • education and {insert career name here}
  • vocational guidance and {insert career name here}

 Use the asterisk * to truncate your search terms for more results. E.g. Nurs* will search Nurse, Nurses and Nursing.

Database Tips

Many databases can tell you about articles which could be helpful for your research, but they don't have the rights to reproduce.

You can limit your search to only give you results with full-text: look for a full-text box and check it off. You can also limit to full text after you've run your search.

If you find an article that is not available full-text, go to Find Periodicals (at the bottom of the main database page) to find out if it is available in another database. Be sure to note what year your article is from.

You can request any article (or book) that is not found in our library through interlibrary loan. Fill out the ILL form (under "How do I?" on the main library page). Keep in mind that it will take time to borrow the material from another library.

Use the database toolbar to print, email and save your articles. Do not use your browser toolbar. Use the EMAIL link to save articles for later. Do not copy and paste the URL from your browser to find articles again, it will time out after your search session closes.

You will need to cite your sources in your paper. Many databases provide citations, but they are not in the correct format. If your citation doesn't note it is MLA 7th ed, it may not be correct. See the CITING SOURCES page in this guide for information on formatting your source citations correctly.

Off-Campus Access

To access the databases from off-campus you will need to log in using your myWCC User ID and Password.

Types of Periodicals

Each of these sources has its own strengths and weaknesses.

Newspapers: For current, localized news.

Magazines: Also for current topics, written for general readers with no background in the subject.

Academic Journals: Longer research reports by specialists, written for other specialists. Can be quite technical. Also called Scholarly / Peer Reviewed / Professional Journals)

 

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600