Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library at the University of Minnesota offers a catalog of open, peer-reviewed textbooks that can be downloaded for free.
OpenStax from Rice University offers free, online educational materials and textbooks, some of which can be printed at an affordable price.
BCcampus Open Ed
BCcampus has curated a collection of open textbooks that align with the top 40 highest enrolled first and second year post-secondary subject areas in British Columbia. Many books have been reviewed by faculty and include ancillary resources. Particular strengths include
In addition to other open educational content, Saylor Academy offers over 100 open textbooks under a variety of Creative Commons licenses.
American Institute of Mathematics
Open textbooks that have been approved by the American Institute of Mathematics.
InTech is the publisher of one of the largest open access collection of books in the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
BC Campus Open Textbooks
The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
A free, collaboratively-built collection of manuals about free and open source software.
DOAB - Directory of Open Access books.
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation.
Most works hosted in GALILEO Open Learning Materials have a Creative Commons license, allowing the reuse, redistribution, remix, and revision of these materials.
Audio / Music
Open Educational Resources Repositories
A collection of open education resources from the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME).
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning
Open Course Library
A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments. Materials are licensed under CC BY unless otherwise noted.
Applied Math & Science Educational Repository
This repository deals heavily in math and science resources, but also gives users access to content dealing with subjects like history, education, and the fine arts.
Openstax gives educators and students access to tens of thousands of educational pages, which can be downloaded in the form of preexisting textbooks, or remixed by teachers into a unique collection designed specifically for their classroom.
Bookshelf (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Bookshelf is a collection of free, openly published books and documents relating to healthcare and life science.
Education Resources from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development resources to help teachers use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections.
New Literacies Alliance
A consortial curricular project led by librarians from K-State and KUMC, addressing the new literacies required for academic success and lifelong learning.
Merlot is a repository of peer reviewed resources designed to aid in teaching, learning, and faculty development. To find the materials that are open access, use the advanced search link, then under license select Creative Commons.
Open Washington - OER Resource Guide
We’ve collected these resources by category with the intent of making the search process more efficient and effective. Hover over a resource tile for additional information about the resource.
Wikiversity is a Wikimedia Foundation project devoted to learning resources, learning projects, and research for use in all levels, types, and styles of education from pre-school to university, including professional training and informal learning. We invite teachers, students, and researchers to join us in creating open educational resources and collaborative learning communities. To learn more about Wikiversity, try a guided tour, learn about adding content, or start editing now.
Google Advanced Image Search
Use the "Usage Rights" filter to find images with Creative Commons licenses.
Creative Commons One Search
Browse over 500 million images, available for reuse
Over 1.8 million+ high quality stock images and videos shared by our talented community.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress provides access to noncommercial, high-quality content, from digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, to "born digital" materials, like Web sites.
Art Images for College Teaching
The University of Michigan Library provides access to this collection for educational and research purposes.
HISTORICAL IMAGES FOR EDUCATIONAL USE
For the first time, Granger's vast historical collection is available free of charge to teachers, librarians and students.
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. We offer nearly 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels, each built by subject matter experts. All courses are available to complete — at your pace, on your schedule, and free of cost.
The Open University.
The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or want to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.
Lumen Learning supports OER adoption at K12 and higher education institutions in order to remove cost as a barrier to education. Lumen contributions to online open courses are licensed under CC BY.
The Courses below are NOT technically 100% OER but they can contain free content and great ideas about course structure and learning outcomes
Open Yale Courses
Each course includes a full set of class lectures produced in high-quality video accompanied by such other course materials as syllabi, suggested readings, exams, and problem sets. The lectures are available as downloadable videos, and an audio-only version is also offered. In addition, searchable transcripts of each lecture are provided.
Khan Academy offers courses in a variety of subjects, including math, science, art, economics, and the humanities. It provides short but effective videos, practice problems and tests for users to learn core academic concepts from preschool to high school and beyond. Content is freely available for personal, non-commercial use.
MIT OpenCourseWare offers full online courses which include insight from instructors, lecture notes, textbook materials, assignments, exams with answers, and multimedia resources. All course content is downloadable. However, not all textbooks are free or open source, so use this site for inspiration unless the materials are otherwise noted as sharable/reusable.
Contributors to YouTube can license their videos for reuse or reuse with attribution. Users can use filters to find Creative Commons licensed videos.
Vimeo is a video-sharing website where users can upload, share, and view videos. Search filters allow users to find Creative Commons licensed videos.
TED Talks are available under the Creative Commons license "Attribution - NonCommercial - NonDerivative" (BY-NC-ND).
Khan Academy offers free practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard so that learners can study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Khan Academy's content is available for personal, non-commercial purposes.