Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles - AC 101 PsychoSocial Issues in Addiction - Jazwinski and Baker - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Recommended Databases

If you have any trouble using or accessing the databases, you should feel free contact me or another librarian. See the Get Help tab for information on different ways to contact us.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycINFO
The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides articles dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

SocINDEX
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Online access to many of the journals published by Elsevier science publishing. Subject coverage includes the natural and social sciences.

Criminal Justice Periodicals
Covers 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text. For topics on criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, a multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 journal titles.

Database Search Help

WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) View a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links below to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project.

Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.

Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the dropdowns under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results or print and save the article and abstract or email them to yourself.)

Read the Abstract

Read the Abstract of the article to decide if it will be useful. Make note of additional keywords in the abstract and subject headings that may be useful for finding additional articles.

AC 101 PsychoSocial Issues in Addiction - Jazwinski and Baker: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Recommended Databases

Database Search Help

Read the Abstract

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!