Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides: Literary Analysis: Literary Criticism in Databases

Literary Criticism Databases

To find book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles of literary criticism on your author or work, consult the following database.

MLA International Bibliography
Access to the Modern Language Association's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Humanities Source
EBSCO. Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more. Indexing and abstracts, and access to over 1400 full text journals. Coverage dating back to 1900.
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in economics, literature, history, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
more...less...
View the JSTOR tutorial below to learn how to search this database.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.

Documentary Films

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.

Finding Articles in Related Disciplines

The databases below may also lead you to useful articles for your research.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Film and Television Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV archive.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
Film and Television Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV archive.

Literary Analysis: Literary Criticism in Databases

Literary Criticism Databases

To find book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles of literary criticism on your author or work, consult the following database.

Documentary Films

Finding Articles in Related Disciplines

The databases below may also lead you to useful articles for your research.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!