Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides: Fairy Tales and Monsters: Find Articles

Find articles in specialized library databases

Explore the psychology databases that will discuss child development, how children understand fantasy, distinguish fantasy from reality and so on.
Explore the education databases to find articles talking about the use of fairy tales in instruction, in classrooms,
Consider the literature databases for the history, the analysis, the discussion of fairy tales as literature.

Literature Resource Center
Biography, bibliography, and synopses of criticism of authors and their works, in all fields. Includes references and links to the original sources.
Gale EBooks
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
APA PsycInfo
Psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters, books, and other scholarly documents. Also includes links to full-text articles in PsycArticles - the APA journal collection.
Education Source
Authoritative, full-text database for education scholarship, covers topics from early childhood education to parent-teacher relations.
JSTOR
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Film and Television Literature with Full Text
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV archive.

Collectively Search a Group of Databases

Suppose you want to find sources for a research question that asks about multiple ideas? Fairy tales AND child development. Fairy tales AND child psychology.
Suppose you also want to find articles about a theme or other big idea that may be relevant to your thesis?
You may try searching multiple databases all at once. How?

Begin on the library homepage. Choose the link for Browse Databases by Subject

Journals

Search these publications that specialize in scholarship around fairy tales.

Fairy Tale Review (JSTOR)
Founded in 2005 by Kate Bernheimer, Fairy Tale Review is an annual literary journal dedicated to publishing new fairy tales and to helping raise public awareness of fairy tales as a diverse, innovative art form. Work from Fairy Tale Review has been selected for inclusion in The O. Henry Prize Stories Anthology, Best New American Voices, Best American Fantasy, and listed as “Notable” in Best American Short Stories, among other honors. Fairy Tale Review is edited by MFA students enrolled in the Program in Creative Writing at the University of Arizona in Tucson.

more... less...

COVERAGE
2005-2021 (Vol. 1 - Vol. 17)
Marvels & Tales
"Publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts." "Introduces new areas of fairy-tale scholarship and research that considers the traditional fairy-tale canon from new perspectives."

Fairy Tales and Monsters: Find Articles

Find articles in specialized library databases

Collectively Search a Group of Databases

Journals

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!