Below is a visual guide to help you with your keyword search process. As student investigators, you are beginning a journey to find reliable, accurate, and academically sound sources for your research. It is important to remember that when searching our databases, you should use "keyword" searches rather than natural language. Databases operate differently than Google and other internet search engines. For instance, avoid entering full sentences or lengthy phrases such as "How are robotics changing industries?" or "How is AI moving industries forward?" These are examples of natural language queries and do not qualify as keyword searches. You will learn that utilizing our library databases will require you to use keywords or short phrases to effectively find articles.
You can access the library's databases remotely
The images below show our library home page and the area you will need to access our "Browse Databases by Subject." There, you will find databases broken down by subject category. I have suggested databases via the arrows for all of you that will have the resources you need and the ones your professor recommended.
When searching any of the databases that I have suggested, it is important to make sure you check the box for "Full Text" as you only want to receive articles in their full form and not a snippet or preview of them. Also you want to make sure you enter in keywords and not natural language as I had mentioned in the previous tab.
You can see that my initial keyword search yielded some 245 articles. However, take note of the left side of the page where it says, "Refine Results." Under this heading are filters/limiters where you can narrow down your results based on years written, the language written in, the geographic region the article is focused on, the type of source (magazine, newspaper, journal, etc.), and if you want only to find "peer-reviewed" articles. Peer-reviewed articles are articles with the strongest vetting process, where experts from that field evaluate the article and verify the author or authors and the sources used to write this document.
Also, please note that when searching keywords in the databases, you will have the word "AND" between the search boxes. These are called Boolean operators. When you search as I did in this initial search, it tells the database they are searching for articles that contain "business" AND "ai or artificial intelligence". You can switch that Boolean operator to "OR" or another operator, "NOT," which will change your results. Please see the image below for an example of Boolean searching.
Examples of Boolean Search: AI AND business = finding articles that contain "AI" and "business".
AI OR business= finding articles that contain "AI" or "Business" not both.
Robotics NOT automation= finding articles that contain "Robotics" not "automation"
Complex example: AI AND business AND processes NOT ChatGPT = This search will find articles that contain "AI", "business", and "processes" but not mention "ChatGPT" in them.
